The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 04, 2003, 09:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by Warren Willson
Bob, I have in my mind that, by interpretation, the ball is ALIVE AND IN PLAY on coach's assistance [OBR 7.08(i)]. It only gets called dead if the defense attempts to play on the assisted runner after the coach interferes.

I also have it in my mind that, unless I have missed an interpretation, Umpire's interference with a catcher's throw is also an immediate dead ball under OBR 2.00 Interference(c), or if it is interference with any other thrown ball it remains ALIVE AND IN PLAY under OBR 5.08.

Am I in error on these two points?

Cheers
1) you might be right on coach's interference -- I've only had it a couple of times, and time has been called at the end of the play to explain / reinforce the call. IT might not be by rule, but as a practical matter, I think it hapens.

2) If the catcher's throw doesn't retire the runner, time is called to enforce the umpire's interference.

Yep, you're right about the umpire's interference. I looked a little harder and found OBR 5.09(b):
    The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base or return to their bases, without liability to be put out, when -
    (b)The plate umpire interferes with the catcher's throw; runners may not advance;

    NOTE: The interference shall be disregarded if the catcher's throw retires the runner.
I should have remembered because I've actually called it once, a very VERY long time ago. I was the PU with R2 stealing when I called out the batter on a K2. The catcher must have thought that was 3 outs so he flipped me the ball and without thinking I caught it. It all happened so quickly that he realised what he'd done and tried to retrieve the ball from my hand while I was standing there dumbfounded. When his subsequent throw failed to retire the runner and I recovered my sensibilities I called "Time" and sent the stealing runner back for umpire's interference. Of course I should have dropped the ball immediately or simply let it bounce back off me, but I guess it was just a reflex.

When I replied to your post I had looked up OBR 2.00 Interference (c) Umpire's Interference and didn't look any further. JEA says that when they changed the rule in 5.09(b) they didn't change OBR 2.00 to match. Guess that's how I got misled.

Cheers
__________________
Warren Willson
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1