The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2003, 10:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally posted by Ump180
I know that the answer is simple, but I can't seem to get a consensious:

Runner on second and third, outs don't matter. Grounder to short, fields clean and throws wide of first. F1 nocks the ball down, rolling (but not going to go out of play) 1st base coach (a) in box or (b) out of box kicks the ball out of play.

Who advances/is called out? Basiclly, what does the umpire do? (FYI: when this actually happend, the umps missed the kick so played is as if the ball went in off the throw)
This is Offensive Interference and is covered by both OBR 2.00 and OBR 5.08. The ball is DEAD, but only because it went out of play, and the runner on whom the play was made is OUT [OBR 5.08]. Other runners return to the last base legally touched at the time of the interference [OBR 2.00 Offensive Interference].

With coach's interference the ball is normally kept alive to allow the defense to make plays on other runners.

Hope this helps

Cheers
__________________
Warren Willson
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1