The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Jun 14, 2012, 06:22pm
Official Forum Member

What happened to me (Suspended)

Alright guys, I feel the need to vent some frustrations over a situation that occurred to me during youth ball. This is rather winded to warn you. I am currently working my 9th year as an umpire however this is my first year working the particular area I am in as I recently relocated due to work.

So the area that I am in now does not have any real sanctioned youth baseball such as Little League, Cal Ripken, Dizzy Dean, etc. Instead, each youth league is ran by the park board for that particular city.

At the completion of my high school season I started to umpire more youth ball. I quickly noticed that each team had at least 5 coaches and it seemed like the dugout had volcanic lava instead of cement as every coach wanted to be outside leaning on the fence. Every game that I officiated I reminded the coaches that they were not allowed outside the dugout. Some coaches questioned me as all the other umpires allowed them to be, but after citing their own rules and the fact that this is a safety issue for the kids playing they stayed in their dugouts.

During one game I had a manager that adamantly disagreed with me to the point that I about ejected him during the plate meeting. This is when things began to get interesting. This manager returned to his dugout and informed his assistants that they were not allowed outside the dugout. One at this point left the dugout and proceeded to head away from the field.

At the time I did not know where he was going, but now I know that he was attempting to call the UIC of the league who did not answer. This coach then went and talked to the board member who was representing that particular age division (10 year olds).