![]() |
|
|
|||
what would you call?
Here is the situation...Jr high level...I was asked this from another umpire..
R3 is stealing on the pitch (sqeeze play)..the catcher takes position infront of the plate before the pitch crosses the plate ( never giving the batter a chance at the ball), R3 scores due to the catcher dropping the ball....what would you call...I already got different answers from other umpires... ![]()
__________________
You'll get nothing and like it. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I also have catchers balk as well....runner scores and the batter remains at bat...
You can say catchers obstuction, but then you would penalize the defense twice...runner scores and now the batter goes to 1st?
__________________
You'll get nothing and like it. ![]() |
|
|||
8-1-1-e-1 plus the definition of squeeze
On CO only runners attempting to advance (inncluding on a squeeze) are advanced. Others only advance if forced.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Agree!
That's obstruction, and due to the fact R3 was stealing on the obstruction, score 1, batter gets 1. In response to mandotheman, you are not penalizing the defense twice. The defense erred on a possible squeeze play. By not penalizing the obstruction on the possibilities of an offensive advantage, you actually penalize the offense.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words". |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
The right call or the correct call? | Nevadaref | Basketball | 9 | Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am |
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |
Does one call relate to the last call? | Tee | Basketball | 28 | Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm |