The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 26, 2011, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
Infield fly situation

OBR rules. Bases loaded, no outs, right handed batter at plate.
Batter hits a high pop-up which could be caught by the pitcher "with ordinary effort". The umpire immediately declares "Infield Fly, Batters out if Fair!" The pitcher, upon hearing the umpire, allows the ball to fall to the ground in fair territory about half way between HP and 1B. No other fielders make an attempt on the ball. The runners, knowing this is potentially a live ball begin to advance to next base. Due to the spin on the ball, the ball abruptly skips sideways and is obviously headed to foul territory when it hits the Batter/runner in fair territory (out of the box and in route to 1B). Ball is inadvertently kicked into the dugout by the B/R (this action is in no way intentional).

How do you sort out this mess?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 26, 2011, 10:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,458
Call the BR out for INT.

It would have been cooler if R3 booted it, then you could have had the IFF AND INT.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 26, 2011, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northwest suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 645
You stated that the ball was in fair territory when contacted, right? The umpire correctly announced the call, the batter is out if the ball is fair. By rule, it became fair when contacted by the BR. He was out the instant he touched it, either way. Because he interfered with the potential live ball, it is dead and the runners return to their bases. Smart pitcher. One of my 11U kids this year tried to glove a similar pop up. It hit the heel of his glove while fair and rolled into DBT. Ouch.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 26, 2011, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Unless you have intent (and you state that you don't), I don't see any mess to clean up. Batter is out. Ball is dead. Runners back to their TOP bases. No mess at all.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 26, 2011, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Unless you have intent (and you state that you don't), I don't see any mess to clean up. Batter is out. Ball is dead. Runners back to their TOP bases. No mess at all.
So you have a fair ball leaving the field? Isn't that a 2 base award?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 26, 2011, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
So you have a fair ball leaving the field? Isn't that a 2 base award?
When did a live fair batted ball leave the field?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 26, 2011, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
When did a live fair batted ball leave the field?
Ah, you're killing it when it's kicked? Based on....?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 26, 2011, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Ah, you're killing it when it's kicked? Based on....?
Let me ask you this... the status of the ball is nothing until it becomes something, yes? So despite the fact that we WILL have IFF if the ball stays fair, at the instant the ball hits the batter, we do not have IFF. Live batter hit by live ball in fair territory - what do YOU do?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 26, 2011, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,458
You have but two choices: Call the BR out on the IFF, because the fair ball is dead once it touches him, OR call him out for INT. You can't get two outs on the same guy, so I'd go for the later.

It's that simple.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 26, 2011, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Let me ask you this... the status of the ball is nothing until it becomes something, yes? So despite the fact that we WILL have IFF if the ball stays fair, at the instant the ball hits the batter, we do not have IFF. Live batter hit by live ball in fair territory - what do YOU do?
Relax, Mike, I'm just playing.

What's weird about the case is that the BR is not out until the ball is fair (IFF), but it's not fair until he's out (INT).

To put it otherwise: the ball touching him both makes it fair and makes him guilty of INT.

I like INT.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 26, 2011, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
This play could have been a lot more interesting, with, I suspect, people landing on both sides of the argument.

Say, for example, R2 was off on the pitch, and had actually crossed 3rd before the ball hit the ground - and was just short of home when the ball contacted BR. Now what do you do with the runners?

And if you've got that one straight, now have R1 similarly off base, when BR actually interferes INTENTIONALLY with F1 making the catch.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 26, 2011, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
Quote:
7.09 (f) It is interference by a batter or a runner when any batter or runner who has just been put out hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate; If the batter or a runner continues to advance after he has been put out, he shall not by that act alone be considered as confusing, hindering or impeding the fielders.
Could one argue that a runner should also be declared out as a result of this interference? I guess not since the ball would be immediately dead?

Last edited by rbmartin; Mon Sep 26, 2011 at 03:24pm. Reason: added thought
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 26, 2011, 03:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
Could one argue that a runner should also be declared out as a result of this interference? I guess not since the ball would be immediately dead?
Not really, because we have more obvious reasons to call this interference already. Barring intent, I cannot see getting a 2nd out here.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 26, 2011, 08:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Barring intent, I cannot see getting a 2nd out here.
Does 7.09(f) require intent?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 26, 2011, 08:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
Does 7.09(f) require intent?
It requires a play to be attempted on another runner. Just catching the IFF is not a play being made on another runner.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Infield Fly situation TwoDot Baseball 4 Fri Jul 15, 2005 02:44pm
Another infield fly situation... Rbn3 Baseball 3 Tue May 18, 2004 05:43pm
Infield(er) Fly CecilOne Softball 17 Sat Mar 29, 2003 07:14pm
Infield Fly Situation dan_renninger Softball 1 Fri Mar 15, 2002 05:43pm
infield fly Robert G Baseball 2 Wed May 02, 2001 10:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1