![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
To me this is no different from when 2B comes loose when R1 slides in hard but safely, and the base ends up in left field, 5 feet from the runner. But you're banging that runner out because he's not touching the base, right? Anything else would be cheating. ![]()
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Turn it around the other way. Say the bases are loaded and the batter hit a slow infield roller to F6 who throws home. The throw sails and F2 has to stretch for it. Problem is, he is only touching the exposed black edge of the plate with the toe end of his shoe to gain traction. He catches the throw and his momentum carries him of the edge after the apparent force out is made. Should R3 be called safe since F2 never had contact with the white part of the plate?
|
|
|||
Maybe the late Lee Weyer could weigh in before it does. This is from his Wikipedia entry:
"Weyer was widely regarded as having one of the largest strike zones in baseball, which was partially attributed to his size at 6'6"[1]; when teaching umpiring, he stated, "Don't be afraid to call strikes. A big strike zone gets the hitters swinging, making for more outs and a quicker game." He often liked to dig trenches on either side of home plate to expose the black portions, which are often borderline pitches between balls and strikes.[3] He wore uniform number 23 when the NL adopted uniform numbers in the 1960s, and was the only umpire to wear a white chest protector,[3] which was prominent because Weyer almost always wore his blazer when calling balls and strikes, even on hot days. |
|
|||
This post started with a Q about whether one would uphold an appeal because a batter who hit a home run touched only the black when crossing, into a debate about whether the black was part of the plate
Two entirely different subjects. For those that uphold this appeal, yee shall never call a borderline pitch a strike and be doomed to long games. Last edited by DG; Fri Jul 08, 2011 at 10:52pm. |
|
|||
Finally a relevant reply!
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
You can't get more apples and oranges than this. The original discussion and your situation have NOTHING to do with each other. The rules specify what to do when a base becomes dislodged, and I'm sure you're well aware of such.
|
|
|||
Well, actually, it's completely different. There's a rule that tells us what to do if the base becomes dislodged, and that runner you describe IS safe ... by rule. There is no such rule regarding the plate.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Missed Home Plate | official702 | Softball | 7 | Fri May 08, 2009 07:32am |
Missed Home Plate Appeal | crewumpires | Baseball | 7 | Mon May 19, 2008 11:22am |
Missed Home Plate | Chess Ref | Softball | 20 | Fri May 09, 2008 12:07pm |
Missed Home Plate | tibear | Baseball | 6 | Wed Apr 25, 2007 03:51pm |
runner missed home plate | crumii | Softball | 5 | Tue Oct 05, 2004 05:41pm |