The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 22, 2011, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
~Sigh~

I am not sure what I hate most:

Trolls or,

What if's . . .

I know Larry fits both groups.

T
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 22, 2011, 09:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
But what if he's...

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 24, 2011, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
The rules and interpretations aren't secret, but many coaches and players don't care to know them.

Case in point: Last week I had a rec game under FED rules that ended on a text book interference call when R2 collided with F6 fielding a batted ball. Offensive coach went ballistic, complaining the fielder was in the baseline, his runner had right of way, never, EVER, seen such a bad call, yada, yada, yada. When I told him that if he would look at the list of rules myths posted at the concession stand and the rules reference that supported my decision, he responded with, "Well, I'm not going to look it up!"

The rules are there for all to see, but only umpires care to read them.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 24, 2011, 05:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 340
Well, the interpretations are not necessarily secret, but they do seem to be locked away in a holy tabernacle that only the high priests have access to - unless you want to part with $150 for a book that may not ne available to the general public or attend some special clinic to get one. For example, I have read in a book on OBR that the PU will typically call a ball hit in back of the plate a foul ball, even if it goes into fair territory because he is blocked from a good view on most of those plays. Does that come from an umpire's manual? It is no wonder that such a convention gets *******ized by the hoi polloi into the myth that a batted ball that hits the plate is foul.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 24, 2011, 07:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953 View Post
I have read in a book on OBR that the PU will typically call a ball hit in back of the plate a foul ball, even if it goes into fair territory because he is blocked from a good view on most of those plays.
It doesn't matter where the ball hits, but it's location when it's first touched. Ergo, I don't care where it hits, but where the catcher fields it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 24, 2011, 07:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953 View Post
For example, I have read in a book on OBR that the PU will typically call a ball hit in back of the plate a foul ball, even if it goes into fair territory because he is blocked from a good view on most of those plays. Does that come from an umpire's manual?
I don't believe that any book says that. Perhaps you're misremembering something. Which book says that? It certainly does not come from an umpire manual.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 24, 2011, 08:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 340
mb, I believe it was in Nemec's book, not certain though. Or maybe SI's book on Knotty Problems.

Here is one from the J/R quiz that I think they got cometely wrong:

R3, R1, two outs. Ground ball up the middle, just past the pitcher's right side. The shortstop gloves the ball in front of second base and attempts to tag the sliding R1 instead of tagging the base. The tag is missed, but R1 slides past the base without touching it. As R1 scrambles back to the base, the shortstop tags him before he is able to return. R3 scored before the tag was applied for the third out (a 'time play'). The defense appeals that R1 missed second base, hoping to get a force out-an 'advantageous fourth out' - to negate the run.
The appeal is upheld; R1 is out and the run cannot score since the third out is now a force out.
The appeal is not allowed, the run scores.
The umpire should simply call R1 out for being out of the baseline, thus avoiding this whole mess.
The correct answer is "b" (the appeal is not allowed, the run scores), at least according to how professional umpires are likely to officiate this play. In theory, Jaksa and Roder agree with answer "a" (the appeal is upheld; R1 is out and the run cannot score since the third out is a force out), but felt it necessary to write the rule as it is likely to be enforced on the field, as in answer "b." The problem lies in the fact that the Official Rules do not specifically define what constitutes an appeal. As our quiz question shows, when appeals meet force plays, the rules are especially inadequate.

Imagine how strong an umpire you will be when you can see plays like this and get them right! You will not only get them right, but will amaze those around you by being able to give specific reasons for your ruling."

Well, I think Rule 7.12 says it is a third out force play and no runs score. Everybody knows that if a batter hits a grand slam with 2 outs and misses 1B and if the defense makes the appropriate appeal at 1B, that it reverts to "force play or batter makes third out at first" situation and no runs score. How is the J/R example any different? The R1 missed 2B in a force out situation and was out on appeal where you can tag the runner or the base, it is still a force. Say the F6 missed the batted ball grounder and the ball went into CF. R1 now at R2 gets up after his slide and continues on to 3B without ever touching 2B. Tagging the R2 now standing on 3B or throwing to 2B and stepping on the base would result in an out. And since it was a third out force out, no run would score, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 24, 2011, 08:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Troll!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 24, 2011, 09:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953 View Post
How is the J/R example any different?
R1 was scrambling back to the base.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953 View Post
Say the F6 missed the batted ball grounder and the ball went into CF. R1 now at R2 gets up after his slide and continues on to 3B without ever touching 2B. Tagging the R2 now standing on 3B or throwing to 2B and stepping on the base would result in an out. And since it was a third out force out, no run would score, correct?
He's still R1, and he would be out only if the appeal were granted. But otherwise you're correct.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
correctable errors shont Basketball 10 Sat Oct 30, 2004 10:28pm
Timekeeping Errors Stat-Man Basketball 11 Tue Sep 28, 2004 03:58pm
errors on an at bat... damion2275 Baseball 3 Tue Jul 08, 2003 01:05pm
Are these errors? jayedgarwho Basketball 8 Mon Feb 24, 2003 11:57am
Correctable Errors Just Curious Basketball 1 Thu Dec 16, 1999 11:07am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1