The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jun 21, 2011, 08:54pm
Official Forum Member

Illegal Pitch?

Something that happened to me in a 9U game the other day. Playing Fed rules with modifications, including no balks, but technically illegal pitches can be called.

So, the pitcher *every* time pitched from the strech, would come set with his pivot foot about 4" in front of the rubber, shift his foot back so it touched the rubber, and then would pitch. The assistant coach complained, his head coach said don't worry, it's not an advantage before I could even say anything. As far as I was concerned, before pitching his pivot foot was in contact with the rubber, and he was 9U. Thoughts?
Old Tue Jun 21, 2011, 09:11pm
Official Forum Member

As a coach and not an umpire, I would consider a 9U game to be instructional. As a coach, I would have corrected that motion in practice. At that age I think it would have been entirely appropriate for the umpire to go out to the mound and ask the pitcher's coach to come on out for an instructional chat. If he continued to pitch that way, let it go since their was no advantage and no real applicable penalty to be enforced.
Old Tue Jun 21, 2011, 09:12pm

Quote:
Originally Posted by treydawgmt View Post
Something that happened to me in a 9U game the other day. Playing Fed rules with modifications, including no balks, but technically illegal pitches can be called.

So, the pitcher *every* time pitched from the strech, would come set with his pivot foot about 4" in front of the rubber, shift his foot back so it touched the rubber, and then would pitch. The assistant coach complained, his head coach said don't worry, it's not an advantage before I could even say anything. As far as I was concerned, before pitching his pivot foot was in contact with the rubber, and he was 9U. Thoughts?