![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
It is clear from the play that the PU wasn't utilizing 2.50; rather, he instinctively ruled batter's interference, which it was not. Heck, after realizing it was ball 4--he acknowledged as much--he didn't even follow through with the typical delayed dead ball penalty. Only after Augie complained did he get together with the crew and pull this incorrect ruling out of thin air.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Oh wise one, please enlighten us. Explain the use of the "typical delayed ball penalty" regarding interference by a BR and which rule you're referring to. My book says, "Effect: The ball is dead..."
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
The fact that you do not realize batter interference is a "delayed dead ball" situation precludes you from any further discussion in this thread. Please learn the rules before attempting to chide someone who does.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Let me be clear: THIS IS NOT BATTER INTERFERENCE.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
I never said it was.
This incident has to be either of the following: 1. Batter interference, which by rule it cannot be (though the PU's actions appear to indicate he was treating it a such). 2. Interference by a batter-runner or runner. In this case, the interference has to be intentional, which it's not. If it is not, then interference and the out should not—cannot—be called. If they were, then the incorrect ruling was, in fact, made. Jaksa/Roder has a very good explanation of what they refer to as "interference without a play." That seems to fit here much more appropriately. While the J/R manual is OBR, of course, we do know that where NCAA rules are not clear or silent, they defer to OBR for guidance and everything interpretation. |
|
|||
|
True, you keep on saying it's not and making that the basis of your argument... why do you chide me for "not knowing BI is DDB" when we're not talking about BI at all?
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
1.72: ... the act of an offensive player, coach, umpire, or spectator that denies the fielder a reasonable opportunity to play the ball. The act may be intentional or unintentional and the ball must have been playable. 12.2.4: The batter-runner may not interfere with a fielder's attempt to throw... Yes ... 12.2.5 mentions intent - but 12.2.5 is not an exception to 12.2.4 and doesn't invalidate 12.2.4.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Texas v. Nebraska end of game | john_faz | Football | 40 | Mon Dec 14, 2009 09:14am |
| Kansas/Texas Game Sit. | wildcatter | Basketball | 14 | Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:53am |
| Did anyone see the end of the A&M vs Texas game tonight. | mightyvol | Basketball | 50 | Fri Mar 02, 2007 04:55pm |
| Texas Game | SamFanboy | Basketball | 12 | Mon Mar 29, 2004 09:49am |
| MSU vs. Texas game | Zebra1 | Basketball | 4 | Mon Mar 31, 2003 03:20pm |