The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 16, 2011, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11 View Post
He is no longer a batter...
You're right. I forgot to post the entire rule.

NCAA
Rule 2
Interference
SECTION 50. The act of an offensive player, umpire or nongame person who interferes with; physically or verbally hinders; confuses; or impedes any fielder attempting to make a play.

A.R. 2—If the batter-runner has not touched first base at the time of interference, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch. If there was an intervening play made on another runner, all runners shall return to the base last touched at the time of interference.

Rule 7
When Batter or Batter-Runner Is Out
SECTION 11. A batter is out when
f. The batter intentionally or unintentionally interferes with the catcher’s
fielding or *throwing* by stepping out of the batter’s box or making any
other movement that hinders a defensive player’s action at home plate;

Since he is still an offensive player, 2-50 applies to him.

Here are all of the rule references concerning intentional interference by the batter-runner or runner.

7-11-h. Does not apply.

7-11-o. Does not apply

6-2-h implies intentional interference by runners other than b-r.

7-11-r applies to preceding runners in a force situation.

You might interpret that one to apply here.

Those are the reference to intentional interference. Given rule 2-50 if it does not explicitly say intentional it does not need to be.
__________________
Tony Carilli
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 16, 2011, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcarilli View Post
Here are all of the rule references concerning intentional interference by the batter-runner or runner.

7-11-h. Does not apply.

7-11-o. Does not apply

6-2-h implies intentional interference by runners other than b-r.

7-11-r applies to preceding runners in a force situation.

You might interpret that one to apply here.

Those are the reference to intentional interference. Given rule 2-50 if it does not explicitly say intentional it does not need to be.
Why not 8-5.d?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 16, 2011, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Why not 8-5.d?
I overlooked that one, the wording of it implies that it does not apply to the batter-runner. But I see how you might apply this one here. I think, however, it would be a stretch. The spirit and intent of this rule is that runners who are hit with thrown balls while running the bases are not ispo facto guilty of interference. The batter-runner is strictly neither a batter nor a runner. Given that, he would not allowed to be legally within the runner's lane and reach up and grab a thrown ball; I think 2-50 covers that situation.

Leaving aside our judgment of the interference by the batter-runner; this is a very difficult rule application.
__________________
Tony Carilli
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Texas v. Nebraska end of game john_faz Football 40 Mon Dec 14, 2009 09:14am
Kansas/Texas Game Sit. wildcatter Basketball 14 Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:53am
Did anyone see the end of the A&M vs Texas game tonight. mightyvol Basketball 50 Fri Mar 02, 2007 04:55pm
Texas Game SamFanboy Basketball 12 Mon Mar 29, 2004 09:49am
MSU vs. Texas game Zebra1 Basketball 4 Mon Mar 31, 2003 03:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1