![]() |
|
|
|||
![]()
mbc,
When you take 7.09(f) and 6.05(m) together, it's really pretty clear IMO: Quote:
JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
I don't think this is a HTBT thing. It's a rule interpretation thing. There's no question that R1 interfered with F6. There is no need to be there. The statement of the problem indicates that the umpire is convinced that he was beyond reach of the base. He's out for interference. The play is immediately dead. There is no question of that. Consequently, the errant throw is of no consequence. What do we do with the batter-runner is the conundrum. Since R1 was SAFE at 2nd there was never any chance of a double play. Yet, your citation of an authoritative interpretation seems to indicate that it doesn't matter. Maybe that's because, despite the safe-at-2nd, it was still an ATTEMPT to make a double play. I still don't know. But it's definitely not a HTBT play. Last edited by David Emerling; Wed Jun 01, 2011 at 09:58pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Ruling | fullor30 | Basketball | 52 | Sat Feb 07, 2009 12:17pm |
Obstruction/interference/"malicious" contact non-ruling (NFHS)... | jcwells | Baseball | 7 | Wed Jul 09, 2008 06:04pm |
batters interference/interference by teammate | _Bruno_ | Baseball | 7 | Mon Apr 07, 2008 07:28am |
Ruling in ASA: Interference? | HawkeyeCubP | Softball | 5 | Thu Jun 14, 2007 07:03pm |
Runner interference versus umpire interference | Jay R | Baseball | 1 | Thu Apr 28, 2005 07:00pm |