View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 01, 2011, 05:39pm
UmpJM UmpJM is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

mbc,

When you take 7.09(f) and 6.05(m) together, it's really pretty clear IMO:

Quote:
6.05 A batter is out when—

(m) A preceding runner shall, in the umpire’s judgment, intentionally interfere with a fielder who is attempting to catch a thrown ball or to throw a ball in an attempt to complete any play:

Rule 6.05(m) Comment: The objective of this rule is to penalize the offensive team for deliberate, unwarranted, unsportsmanlike action by the runner in leaving the baseline for the obvious purpose of crashing the pivot man on a double play, rather than trying to reach the base. Obviously this is an
umpire’s judgment play.
Of course, as I initially said, HTBT.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote