![]() |
|
|
|||
Ruling on interference
[Use OBR]
Scenario: R1 - no outs Play: Batter hits a sharp grounder directly to F4 which should result in an easy 4-6-3 double play. The throw to F6 is in plenty of time to retire R1 but as F6 receives the ball he immediately juggles it (i.e. does not have control) as he crosses the bag. Once off the bag, he regains the handle on the ball and prepares to throw to 1st base when his feet are swiped out from underneath him by the sliding runner who was beyond reach of the bag at the time of contact. As a result, F6's throw is wild and the ball ends up going out-of-play. A bunch of my fellow umpires and I had a discussion about this play and I was surprised with the varied rulings despite what, in my opinion, is not a particularly difficult play to call. Opinions? |
|
|||
![]()
Dave,
HTBT to be sure, but, as presented, it sounds like a violation of the OBR FPSR. R1 out, BR out. Any other runners would return to their TOP base. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
I don't think there is such a thing as a Force Play Slide Rule (FPSR) under OBR.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Ruling | fullor30 | Basketball | 52 | Sat Feb 07, 2009 12:17pm |
Obstruction/interference/"malicious" contact non-ruling (NFHS)... | jcwells | Baseball | 7 | Wed Jul 09, 2008 06:04pm |
batters interference/interference by teammate | _Bruno_ | Baseball | 7 | Mon Apr 07, 2008 07:28am |
Ruling in ASA: Interference? | HawkeyeCubP | Softball | 5 | Thu Jun 14, 2007 07:03pm |
Runner interference versus umpire interference | Jay R | Baseball | 1 | Thu Apr 28, 2005 07:00pm |