![]() |
|
|
|||
Dash, if it happened, would you balk him for starting and stopping? I guess if the ball fell out of his glove and didn't cross the foul line, that would work, too.
|
|
|||
Quote:
MLB RULEBOOK 8.05 If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when— (k) The pitcher, while touching his plate, accidentally or intentionally drops the ball; ===== You can not drop the ball while you are on the mound. The foul line has nothing to do with this rule. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
That interpretation is specifically cited when the ball is dropped during a pitch, not a throw to first. And, if I recall, since I don't have my book with me, JEA makes a distinction between the two.
|
|
|||
Quote:
So Andy Pettitte starts his delivery from set and drops the ball. Given his "move" how do you distinguish whether it was a pitch or not? Or a pitcher does a "swing back" toward 2B, from which he can either pitch or go to 2B, and drops the ball - how do you distinguish? Ball hits the ground and rolls obver the line - ball. That;s my story and I'm sticking to it.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
That's okay. I understand you and many others feel that way. I'm just saying that the interps you referred to do not back you up. They specifically mention a "pitched" ball, not a ball dropped when the pitcher is not in the process of delivering a pitch. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
pitcher throwing/feinting to unoccupied base... | thumpferee | Baseball | 4 | Sun Apr 01, 2007 11:59pm |
Feinting to 1st | officialtony | Baseball | 7 | Fri Jun 02, 2006 12:04pm |