![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
I fixed it again. LOL, that is what happens when I get excited about the Indians winning. ![]() MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Interesting. There was a FED question similar.
With the bases loaded and one out, B5 hits a line drive to the right field fence. R1 and R2 both score, but R3 is thrown out at home. B5 safely arrives at third, but missed first base. The defense properly appeals B5's missing first. [Rule 9-1-1 Exception d] No runs score. (Correct Answer) Now put this same scenario onto what you have and let me know what you come up with. |
|
|||
Quote:
Joel |
|
|||
Peruse is an interesting word. It originally meant to examine in detail; scrutinize but now simply means to read carefully or thoroughly; study. However, peruse was so often used ironically that it took on a third, quite different, meaning: to read in a casual or leisurely way.
Dave Reed—I'm sure you are correct about the bolded words. R2, R1, one out. Batter gets a hit down the RF line. R2 scores, R1 misses 2B and proceeds to 3B. BR is thrown out at 2B trying for a double. R1's miss is then appealed. It's a force play for the third out, and R2's run is nullified, even though "a runner who follow[ed] in the batter order [was] put out first." You're right. It's badly written.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
Consider this and see if clarifies how the NCAA wants appeals of missed based by forced runners handled.
Quote:
|
|
|||
Play: Bases loaded, one out. The batter triples. R1 missed second and the batter-runner missed first. The defense successfully appeals against the batter-runner, then R1. The appeal out of the batter-runner removes the force against R1. R1’s appealed out (third out) is not a force out; R2 and R3’s runs count. If the defense had appealed R1's' missing second as the first appeal and then the batter-runner’s missing of first, no runs would have scored since the third out was for the batter-runner not attaining first base.
Is this an official NCAA case play? If it is, then my example above would be wrong in NCAA. And so would Play 106-243 [p. 145] in my 2006 BRD, which is of course possibly out of date now. (In fact, it may even for its time have been incorrect in one particular: it asserts that in NCAA, an appeal of a runner forced at the time the play started, not at the time he missed the base, remains a force throughout the play. Some NCAA umpires on this board insisted that "at the time of the miss" was the criterion, as in Fed and OBR.) The play given in the BRD to demonstrate "order of appeals" involves an obvious non-force and an obvious force, not a force removed because a following runner had been put out. Still, it's hard to believe that NCAA follows neither Fed nor OBR but instead follows ASA softball, in which a putout of the BR instantly and permanently removes all forces, including appeals.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! Last edited by greymule; Mon May 02, 2011 at 01:42pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
The text of the NCAA rule is different and is ambiguous.
8-5: j. The individual fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags the runner or the base after the runner has been forced to advance because the batter became a runner; Exception—No runner can be forced out if a runner who follows in the batting order is put out first. However, if a runner is put out during live action, it does not remove the force on any runners who might subsequently be declared out for a running infraction. A.R. 1—No run may score on any play when the third out is either a force out or the result of a batter-runner’s failure to reach first base safely. I've bolded the part that Referee Magazine is probably basing its opinion on. I believe, but have no way to prove, that the bolded part is intended to apply to situations very similar to the OP. Bases loaded, B/R is safe at first, attempts briefly to reach second and is tagged out. In this case R2 is still forced to third because B/R was safe at first. So the appeal is of a force out which is the third out. If my surmise is correct, the the bolded part is really only a clarification, and the same ruling is implicit in the other rule codes. But Referee Magazine probably took the bolded sentence literally and ignored the contradiction to both the preceding sentence and to baseball common sense. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NCAA Rule Question - Appeal Play | Durham | Baseball | 19 | Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:05pm |
Appeal play & proper ruling | m084307 | Baseball | 7 | Sun Apr 27, 2008 08:58pm |
SEC wants high schools to play NCAA rules ? | SWFLguy | Football | 15 | Mon Sep 27, 2004 09:30am |
Appeal play under Williamsport rules | isneths | Baseball | 5 | Wed Jul 14, 2004 04:26pm |
Pro Rules - Appeal Play | wadep1965 | Baseball | 3 | Mon May 31, 2004 10:46am |