The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 401
Send a message via Yahoo to yankeesfan
you make the call

runners on 2nd and 3rd, coach wants to intentionally walk the batter. the pitcher is on the rubber and drops the ball. is this a balk?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 11:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeesfan View Post
runners on 2nd and 3rd, coach wants to intentionally walk the batter. the pitcher is on the rubber and drops the ball. is this a balk?
Why wouldn't it be?
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 11:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 401
Send a message via Yahoo to yankeesfan
does it matter if the umpire already signaled the batter to go to first?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 27, 2011, 12:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: At the base of the mountains
Posts: 377
If the umpire has signaled for the batter to head down to first base, then yes, it matters. In Fed, it is a dead ball award. 5-1-3
__________________
Its' not a matter of being right or wrong, it's a matter of working hard to get it right.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 27, 2011, 07:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by justanotherblue View Post
If the umpire has signaled for the batter to head down to first base, then yes, it matters. In Fed, it is a dead ball award. 5-1-3
That was my thought. Upon the coach's request, the umpire should have called time to make the award. Dropping a dead ball is not a balk.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 27, 2011, 08:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Yet another post where the rule-set in play is crucial. I didn't assume FED, and I'm guessing Matt didn't either.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 27, 2011, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Yet another post where the rule-set in play is crucial. I didn't assume FED, and I'm guessing Matt didn't either.
Nor did I in the first post. In the second by the OP, though, he says that PU "signaled the batter to go to first", so that would imply FED or NAIA.

Is the ball dead in NAIA on this award?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 27, 2011, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northwest suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt View Post
Why wouldn't it be?
If it crosses the foul (fair) lines, it would be a ball. (NFHS 6-2-4a; NCAA 9-2b; pro 8.01d Cmt, 8.05k).

Last edited by MikeStrybel; Wed Apr 27, 2011 at 09:21am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 27, 2011, 11:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Nor did I in the first post. In the second by the OP, though, he says that PU "signaled the batter to go to first", so that would imply FED or NAIA.

Is the ball dead in NAIA on this award?
Nope - ball remains "live"
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 27, 2011, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by LittleLeagueBob View Post
Nope - ball remains "live"
So, in NAIA, if PU points the batter to first, and F1 then, immediately, drops the ball (or feints without stepping, for example), would it also be a balk? Would BR get second?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 27, 2011, 06:52pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
If I hear the coach request intentional walk and it registers, the ball is dead (FED). The signal might come a second later (FED). The mind is quicker than the hands, hands just signal what mind has already registered. Same as calling balls and strike and outs and safes, as long as the signal matches what mind has already decided.

Last edited by DG; Wed Apr 27, 2011 at 06:54pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 28, 2011, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeStrybel View Post
If it crosses the foul (fair) lines, it would be a ball. (NFHS 6-2-4a; NCAA 9-2b; pro 8.01d Cmt, 8.05k).
Has anyone ever saw this happen? I mean, actually dropping the ball which then crosses the line ......I dont mean having the ball slip from the hand while pitching, i.e. a really wild pitch....
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 28, 2011, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northwest suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 645
I once saw a pitcher, in the stretch, rotate the ball haphazardly on his side. It was cold and he lost control of the ball, essentially dropping it since he wasn't pitching or throwing it. Because he had been cocking his wrist so much while spinning the ball in his hand, it travelled close enough to first that the fielder picked it up before rolling any further. It may have crossed the line but I'll never know.

My answer simply was in response to a post asking why a such a dropped ball wouldn't be a balk, nothing more. It undoubtedly wouldn't be a rule in these three sets if it hadn't happened.

Ever have a runner not be able to complete his trip around the bases? I have never witnessed such a crazy play but there is a rule for it and the play happened! OBR 5.10,: If an accident to a runner is such as to prevent him from proceeding to a base to which he is entitled, as on a home run hit out of the playing field, or an award of one or more bases, a substitute runner shall be permitted to complete the play.

The Red Sox Blue played the Blue Jays on September 14, 2005. Gabe Kapler was R1 when Tony Graffanino hit a home run. Kapler ruptured his achillies tendon while rounding second and collapsed. Graffanino stayed 10 feet or so behind Kapler knowing that if he passed him the home run would not count, R1 would be out and Graffanino would have to stay on second. Five minutes passed and Terry Francona invoked rule 5.10 to put in a substitute runner, Alejandro Machado, for Kapler. The home run was completed and Boston scored two runs on one of the wierdest plays in baseball. Yes, we have some crazy rules.

Last edited by MikeStrybel; Thu Apr 28, 2011 at 09:30am.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 28, 2011, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lincoln NE
Posts: 210
What about dropping the ball as F1 steps off?

As F1 is stepping off the rubber (Pivot foot is no longer in contact with the rubber but has not touched the ground) the ball pops out, then the pivot foot hits the ground and then the ball hits the ground (does not cross Foul line)
Is this a balk or as long as his pivot foot hits the ground before the ball everything is OK?
I saw this happen on a bluff and runner on first. Fed rules.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 28, 2011, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeStrybel View Post
Graffanino stayed 10 feet or so behind Kapler knowing that if he passed him the home run would not count, R1 would be out and Graffanino would have to stay on second.
Try again.
__________________
Andrew Senger
Webmaster: RefVB.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You make the call tip184 Baseball 47 Mon Jan 05, 2009 09:29pm
Can I Make this Call? tmp44 Baseball 12 Fri May 13, 2005 04:19pm
What call would you make? Gre144 Baseball 5 Fri Apr 20, 2001 09:02am
Make the call db Softball 5 Mon Apr 16, 2001 02:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1