![]() |
|
|
|||
I once saw a pitcher, in the stretch, rotate the ball haphazardly on his side. It was cold and he lost control of the ball, essentially dropping it since he wasn't pitching or throwing it. Because he had been cocking his wrist so much while spinning the ball in his hand, it travelled close enough to first that the fielder picked it up before rolling any further. It may have crossed the line but I'll never know.
My answer simply was in response to a post asking why a such a dropped ball wouldn't be a balk, nothing more. It undoubtedly wouldn't be a rule in these three sets if it hadn't happened. Ever have a runner not be able to complete his trip around the bases? I have never witnessed such a crazy play but there is a rule for it and the play happened! OBR 5.10,: If an accident to a runner is such as to prevent him from proceeding to a base to which he is entitled, as on a home run hit out of the playing field, or an award of one or more bases, a substitute runner shall be permitted to complete the play. The Red Sox Blue played the Blue Jays on September 14, 2005. Gabe Kapler was R1 when Tony Graffanino hit a home run. Kapler ruptured his achillies tendon while rounding second and collapsed. Graffanino stayed 10 feet or so behind Kapler knowing that if he passed him the home run would not count, R1 would be out and Graffanino would have to stay on second. Five minutes passed and Terry Francona invoked rule 5.10 to put in a substitute runner, Alejandro Machado, for Kapler. The home run was completed and Boston scored two runs on one of the wierdest plays in baseball. Yes, we have some crazy rules. Last edited by MikeStrybel; Thu Apr 28, 2011 at 09:30am. |
|
|||
What about dropping the ball as F1 steps off?
As F1 is stepping off the rubber (Pivot foot is no longer in contact with the rubber but has not touched the ground) the ball pops out, then the pivot foot hits the ground and then the ball hits the ground (does not cross Foul line)
Is this a balk or as long as his pivot foot hits the ground before the ball everything is OK? I saw this happen on a bluff and runner on first. Fed rules. |
|
|||
Quote:
If the pitcher has legally disengaged, then he can legally throw the ball (or drop it or kick it -- they all count as a "throw") anywhere in live ball territory.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
SLAS |
|
|||
Try again.
|
|
|||
I took the play from an MLB link someone had passed along a while ago. If you have an issue with what they wrote, take it up with them, please.
http://findarticles.com/p/articles/m.../ai_n15971195/ Last edited by MikeStrybel; Thu Apr 28, 2011 at 10:04am. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Probably the most-valuable is to cite your source originally, not when you're called out for making a mistake.
|
|
|||
Thanks, next time I will post a link so you aren't so confused by the facts of the story.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
You make the call | tip184 | Baseball | 47 | Mon Jan 05, 2009 09:29pm |
Can I Make this Call? | tmp44 | Baseball | 12 | Fri May 13, 2005 04:19pm |
What call would you make? | Gre144 | Baseball | 5 | Fri Apr 20, 2001 09:02am |
Make the call | db | Softball | 5 | Mon Apr 16, 2001 02:55pm |