The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 11:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Place the Runners

R2.

Groundball to F6. R2 retreats to the 2nd base bag. F6 throws into the stands trying to get BR.

Does R2 go to third or home? Not a coach. Not a fan with an agenda. Just want some clarification for my own knowledge.

I've always used the "base going to plus one." So would the base "going to " by R2 by 2nd which means he ends up at 3rd?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 11:08pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,553
R2 would get home.

BTW, the base he is going to is 3rd no matter where he is actually running to. This is a two base award for a thrown ball out of play.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 11:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
R2 would get home.
+1. There's no such this as "1+1" in awarding bases. For throws going out of play, it's a two base award. If the throw is the first play by an infielder, the bases are awarded from their base at the time of the pitch. If the throw is by an outfielder or a subsequent play by an infielder, it's two bases from the time of the throw.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 09:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
This happened yesterday in the Reds/Brewers game and was handled correctly (of course) by the umps.

Baseball Video Highlights & Clips | CIN@MIL: Lucroy scores on an error by Janish - Video | MLB.com: Multimedia
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 09:38am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
This happened yesterday in the Reds/Brewers game and was handled correctly (of course) by the umps.

Baseball Video Highlights & Clips | CIN@MIL: Lucroy scores on an error by Janish - Video | MLB.com: Multimedia
After a long delay. The announcer was cut off (in the clip), but it's obvious he was about to make an incredibly wrong statement.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
After a long delay. The announcer was cut off (in the clip), but it's obvious he was about to make an incredibly wrong statement.
The PbP guy managed to get in a helpful "2 from the field."

I didn't notice that the play started with R2. No idea why that runner stopped at 3B, as I'm sure he was told, "you, score!"
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
This happened yesterday in the Reds/Brewers game and was handled correctly (of course) by the umps.

Baseball Video Highlights & Clips | CIN@MIL: Lucroy scores on an error by Janish - Video | MLB.com: Multimedia
I'm not convinced they initially got it right. The runner may have stopped at third after being awarded home, but I'm not 100% convinced. There's nothing showing the umpire awarding bases.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 04:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by yawetag View Post
I'm not convinced they initially got it right. The runner may have stopped at third after being awarded home, but I'm not 100% convinced. There's nothing showing the umpire awarding bases.
The good thing about a dead ball is you have plenty of time to get it right.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 09:35am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
R2.

Groundball to F6. R2 retreats to the 2nd base bag. F6 throws into the stands trying to get BR.

Does R2 go to third or home? Not a coach. Not a fan with an agenda. Just want some clarification for my own knowledge.

I've always used the "base going to plus one." So would the base "going to " by R2 by 2nd which means he ends up at 3rd?
Are you an umpire? If so, you really, really need to learn base awards, not "go by something" that's completely wrong.

Base awards on balls thrown (not pitched) out of play are always two base awards. The two bases are always forward from the position of the runner on the bases at the time of either the pitch or the throw, depending on the situation (see above in this thread).

I had this exact play last week in a varsity game. R2, ball hit to F6, R2 heads back to second, ball's thrown out of play. "You, score. You, second base." Surprisingly, not a word of complaint by anyone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Right place at right time 26 Year Gap Basketball 5 Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:17pm
WANT TO SLEEP AT MY PLACE? freethinker420 Football 0 Wed Jan 28, 2004 06:50pm
Best place to get uniform? wobster Baseball 18 Fri Jul 18, 2003 08:41am
What a place to find. nhref58 Softball 3 Wed May 28, 2003 08:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1