The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Place the Runners (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/68096-place-runners.html)

Spence Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:00pm

Place the Runners
 
R2.

Groundball to F6. R2 retreats to the 2nd base bag. F6 throws into the stands trying to get BR.

Does R2 go to third or home? Not a coach. Not a fan with an agenda. Just want some clarification for my own knowledge.

I've always used the "base going to plus one." So would the base "going to " by R2 by 2nd which means he ends up at 3rd?

JRutledge Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:08pm

R2 would get home.

BTW, the base he is going to is 3rd no matter where he is actually running to. This is a two base award for a thrown ball out of play.

Peace

yawetag Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 753349)
R2 would get home.

+1. There's no such this as "1+1" in awarding bases. For throws going out of play, it's a two base award. If the throw is the first play by an infielder, the bases are awarded from their base at the time of the pitch. If the throw is by an outfielder or a subsequent play by an infielder, it's two bases from the time of the throw.

rbmartin Tue Apr 26, 2011 09:16am

This happened yesterday in the Reds/Brewers game and was handled correctly (of course) by the umps.

Baseball Video Highlights & Clips | CIN@MIL: Lucroy scores on an error by Janish - Video | MLB.com: Multimedia

Rich Tue Apr 26, 2011 09:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 753346)
R2.

Groundball to F6. R2 retreats to the 2nd base bag. F6 throws into the stands trying to get BR.

Does R2 go to third or home? Not a coach. Not a fan with an agenda. Just want some clarification for my own knowledge.

I've always used the "base going to plus one." So would the base "going to " by R2 by 2nd which means he ends up at 3rd?

Are you an umpire? If so, you really, really need to learn base awards, not "go by something" that's completely wrong.

Base awards on balls thrown (not pitched) out of play are always two base awards. The two bases are always forward from the position of the runner on the bases at the time of either the pitch or the throw, depending on the situation (see above in this thread).

I had this exact play last week in a varsity game. R2, ball hit to F6, R2 heads back to second, ball's thrown out of play. "You, score. You, second base." Surprisingly, not a word of complaint by anyone.

Rich Tue Apr 26, 2011 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin (Post 753421)
This happened yesterday in the Reds/Brewers game and was handled correctly (of course) by the umps.

Baseball Video Highlights & Clips | CIN@MIL: Lucroy scores on an error by Janish - Video | MLB.com: Multimedia

After a long delay. The announcer was cut off (in the clip), but it's obvious he was about to make an incredibly wrong statement.

mbyron Tue Apr 26, 2011 09:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 753435)
After a long delay. The announcer was cut off (in the clip), but it's obvious he was about to make an incredibly wrong statement.

The PbP guy managed to get in a helpful "2 from the field." :rolleyes:

I didn't notice that the play started with R2. No idea why that runner stopped at 3B, as I'm sure he was told, "you, score!"

Welpe Tue Apr 26, 2011 09:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 753436)

I didn't notice that the play started with R2. No idea why that runner stopped at 3B, as I'm sure he was told, "you, score!"

No no no...didn't you hear the common tater? R2 was initially told to go to third and then he was later sent home. If a talking head said it, then it must be true. :)

mbyron Tue Apr 26, 2011 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 753439)
No no no...didn't you hear the common tater? R2 was initially told to go to third and then he was later sent home. If a talking head said it, then it must be true. :)

Yeah, I'm astonished that the conference happened so fast that the cameras didn't catch it. :rolleyes:

yawetag Tue Apr 26, 2011 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin (Post 753421)
This happened yesterday in the Reds/Brewers game and was handled correctly (of course) by the umps.

Baseball Video Highlights & Clips | CIN@MIL: Lucroy scores on an error by Janish - Video | MLB.com: Multimedia

I'm not convinced they initially got it right. The runner may have stopped at third after being awarded home, but I'm not 100% convinced. There's nothing showing the umpire awarding bases.

rbmartin Tue Apr 26, 2011 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by yawetag (Post 753557)
I'm not convinced they initially got it right. The runner may have stopped at third after being awarded home, but I'm not 100% convinced. There's nothing showing the umpire awarding bases.

The good thing about a dead ball is you have plenty of time to get it right.

DG Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:39pm

Did not see a conference and don't know why one would be necessary. I did have a similar situation once in a tournament game, I was working U3 position. Similar in that F4 bobbled the ball and then threw it over F2's head out of play and runner from 1b was being scored. Ball was already dead so I called crew together for discussion. One item of discussion was that the fielder bobbled the ball and then threw it out of play so the throw was 2nd play play by an infielder. I said bobbling the ball and picking it up was not a play it was screwup, throwing the ball was a play, and we all agreed on that and runner R1 returned to 3b. He had reached 2b at TOT if anyone wondering.

Can't see a major league crew needing this discussion.

Rich Wed Apr 27, 2011 08:32am

Do you ever see a ML crew aggressively awarding bases? In the games I attend where balls are thrown in the stands, it seems like they don't really do much of anything and just assume that runners know where to go.

I know in a HS game, I *must* say "you, score" loud enough for everyone to hear and decisively enough to avoid having a visit.

Rich Wed Apr 27, 2011 08:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 753638)
Did not see a conference and don't know why one would be necessary. I did have a similar situation once in a tournament game, I was working U3 position. Similar in that F4 bobbled the ball and then threw it over F2's head out of play and runner from 1b was being scored. Ball was already dead so I called crew together for discussion. One item of discussion was that the fielder bobbled the ball and then threw it out of play so the throw was 2nd play play by an infielder. I said bobbling the ball and picking it up was not a play it was screwup, throwing the ball was a play, and we all agreed on that and runner R1 returned to 3b. He had reached 2b at TOT if anyone wondering.

Can't see a major league crew needing this discussion.

Catching a ball (grounder, line drive, popup) is never a play. I wonder why so many umpires have a problem with this concept.

MikeStrybel Wed Apr 27, 2011 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 753736)
Do you ever see a ML crew aggressively awarding bases? In the games I attend where balls are thrown in the stands, it seems like they don't really do much of anything and just assume that runners know where to go.

I know in a HS game, I *must* say "you, score" loud enough for everyone to hear and decisively enough to avoid having a visit.

At the Chicago NCAA meetings they showed a couple MLB plays for obstruction. In both, the umpires were emphatic and immediate in their awards. Even in the bigs, players don't always know where to go on such calls. Tom also showed two NCAA plays involving obstruction - both types. One involved a runner believing that he was protected when in fact he wasn't. Hiler reiterated the need for umpires to be assertive on this call and reminded us that collegiate athletes (in this case D-1) typically aren't aware of the award.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1