The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

View Poll Results: How do you rule when the pitcher takes signs from the catcher when not on the pitcher
"Don't do that again" 6 18.75%
Warn and then subsequently balk/ball 4 12.50%
Balk/Ball immediately 2 6.25%
Other (explain) 20 62.50%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 32. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2011, 08:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Sign not taken from the pitcher's plate (NFHS)

Gentleman-

How do you rule when the pitcher takes signs from the catcher when not on the pitcher's plate?

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2011, 09:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

I answered "other", so I guess I've got some 'splainin' to do.

I do not believe there is a FED rule that prohibits a pitcher from taking "signs" while off the rubber.

I do think there is one that says he "must" after engaging.

Those are two different things. If he fails the 2nd (i.e., the actual rule) I would likely kill it and instruct him to pitch properly.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2011, 09:25pm
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
You forgot option #3 - "Ignore". I ignore. I don't know for sure IF he's taking signs while off the rubber, I'm not sure if whatever the catcher is doing is GIVING signs to the pitcher while he's off the rubber, and I don't see any advantage for the pitcher even if he IS taking signs off the rubber - if I see him engage and then quick pitch, I penalize the quick pitch.
This is a "looking for boogers" issue...JMO

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2011, 10:26pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ View Post
You forgot option #3 - "Ignore". I ignore. I don't know for sure IF he's taking signs while off the rubber, I'm not sure if whatever the catcher is doing is GIVING signs to the pitcher while he's off the rubber, and I don't see any advantage for the pitcher even if he IS taking signs off the rubber - if I see him engage and then quick pitch, I penalize the quick pitch.
This is a "looking for boogers" issue...JMO

JJ
Yep.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2011, 11:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 91
FED rule requires "shall" 6-1-1 pitcher to take signs from the catcher at the start of the "pitching regulation" which begins when he "intentionally contacts the pitching rubber." In the OP there is nothing against him doing that. With that said imo unless the pitchers actions results in taking longer than allotted time to deliver ball (20 seconds) or is quick pitching I am not going there.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2011, 11:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 323
My answer is other. As in do a search on here. This question comes up about every three months.
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2011, 12:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: At the base of the mountains
Posts: 377
As long as he isn't quick pitching, leave it alone.
__________________
Its' not a matter of being right or wrong, it's a matter of working hard to get it right.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2011, 04:41am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 244
What signs?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2011, 07:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
Gentleman-

How do you rule when the pitcher takes signs from the catcher when not on the pitcher's plate?

-Josh
Whom are you asking?

The rules prescribe no penalty. The purpose of the provision is to prevent a quick pitch, which is an illegal pitch. As long as F1 isn't in the vicinity of a quick pitch, I probably won't see it. If the O coach complains, I'll tell him to take his signs on the rubber, and then won't see it.

If he's close to a quick pitch, I'll tell F2 to get him to slow down so that he doesn't. And if he does quick pitch, I'll address that when it happens.

Frankly, I've never had a problem with this, so I don't worry much about it.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2011, 07:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
I have consistently applied the following officiating mechanic concering this topic:
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2011, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
I answered "Other" because you didn't have a "Do Nothing" choice.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2011, 08:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 770
In Fed, as long as he's simulating taking signs while on the rubber, I've got nothing off the rubber.

Then again, I've still got nothing off the rubber, but a balk when he doesn't simulate them on the rubber.
__________________
Andrew Senger
Webmaster: RefVB.com
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2011, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
I guess I should probably explain the reason for the question. In the past I have prescribed by the theory that there is no penalty listed. Specifically in our state letter to umpires the director of officials, in bold, stated "Pitcher must take his sign with pivot foot in contact with plate." Personally, I would like to know the reason for listing this but it wasn't a huge concern for me. Last night I was looking up something else in the BRD and ran across the section on this topic about taking signs off the pitcher's plate. According to the BRD, the penalty is a ball/balk.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2011, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,458
It's just a quick pitch prevention tool. Use it as such, and don't be the OOO.

For those non-believers: If a catcher points to first for pick-off, as F1 is climbing the hill, is that a sign? Yup.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2011, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by yawetag View Post
In Fed, as long as he's simulating taking signs while on the rubber, I've got nothing off the rubber.

Then again, I've still got nothing off the rubber, but a balk when he doesn't simulate them on the rubber.
Since no rule requires him to take a sign, what justifies demanding that he "simulate" taking one?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS pitcher's 'step' back okla21fan Softball 7 Fri Apr 08, 2011 09:49am
Plate Umpire position between innings (NFHS) SWFLguy Softball 24 Mon Jan 04, 2010 09:01pm
Pitcher's Stride "Within" the 24" Plate BretMan Softball 24 Mon Apr 28, 2008 03:38pm
NFHS - pitched ball hits plate CLBuffalo Softball 6 Mon Jun 12, 2006 02:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1