![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Sunny and 68 for me on Wednesday. I've already placed my bulk order of ice.
|
|
|||
|
So if the BR passes 1B without touching, then the throw arrives to the base, then the BR returns to 1B, then the defense appeals he missed it the first time, the BR is safe?
It's such a complicated game... JJ PS Flurries and 39 here all weekend for my "home" opener....I got really spoiled doing my first 30 games in Florida...."Honey, where did I pack my long underwear last Fall?"... |
|
|||
|
JJ,
My first week was snowed out so I'm going to bed dreaming of a beach and a bottle of rum. Off to Spring Break in St. Thomas in the morning. To my baseball brethren, I wish you well this week and hope you stay safe out there. Thanks for the great discussions this week - esepcially when we disagree. Those ones make me a better umpire and that's the goal. |
|
|||
|
Yes. He corrected the miss before the appeal.
|
|
|||
|
I think FED specifically says that if the runner is trying to return, then the runner must be tagged. In this case, I'd apply that only if the runner is "actively" trying to get to the base. If he's just strolling back as after most overruns of first, I'd allow the base to be tagged.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Seems odd the FED would make such a distinction. If they do I wonder what is the purpose? I'm thinking get the out either way if the appeal was proper - bag or runner. FED appeals are pretty lax... 8-2-5 Penalty (Art 1 - 5) "A live ball appeal may be made by a coach or any defensive player with the ball in his possession by tagging the runner or touching the base that was missed or left too early". We can get it from a verbal appeal shouted from the dugout...we can get it if they tag the base. Does that help muddy the winner of the bet? |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|