The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: illinois
Posts: 251
Technically I'm with JJ on this but from a different path.
The play would continue and BR would probably be called out to end play. Then umpire that has the obstruction would step in and award BR 2nd because of the obstruction, and R2 third because he is forced to third because of the award to BR.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 11:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
fwiw, I agree with JJ and jong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 323
Gentlemen, I've got a different take on this. The obstruction is negated because the BR made it to 2nd base safely. R2's action are completely independent of the obstruction. I don't have obstruction anymore. I now have two runners on a base that is legally occupied by bonehead R2. BR is out when tagged.
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that."

Last edited by Forest Ump; Sat Feb 12, 2011 at 12:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forest Ump View Post
The obstruction is negated because the BR made it to 2nd base safely. ... I now have two runners on a base that is legally occupied by bonehead R2.
Contradict yourself much? If he's in jeopardy of being out when tagged on the base, then he's not safely on 2B.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by yawetag View Post
Contradict yourself much? If he's in jeopardy of being out when tagged on the base, then he's not safely on 2B.
No contradiction here, Yawetag. Two seperate and independent plays. BR makes it to 2B safely. No play was made on him. The umpire did not rule out or safe on his arrival at the base. He achieved his advance base regardless of whether he was protected there or not. He was never in jepordy. The obstruction is negated because of that. He's now standing on an occupied base and then tagged. Where is the contradiction? Is he not responsible for knowing that 2nd base is occupied before preceeding there?
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: illinois
Posts: 251
Obstruction is never "negated". An umpire will always acknowledge the obstruction even if the runner attains the base entitled to or one beyond. Since the BR clearly showed that he could reach 2nd base without being obstructed, he is at least entitled to that base and any runner forced to advance, because of the penalty of obstruction, will do so.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 02:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 145
I cannot see awarding R2 3rd because of his boneheaded baserunning. I have the BR out when tagged on second base.

I know it is a different play but the principle is the sane.

When two runners are between first and second and the ball is thrown out of play, we award the lead runner two bases but the trail runner would only get one.

By what rule could you advance R2 to third? What were the base coaches doing? Just bad baserunning.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 13, 2011, 01:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjong View Post
Obstruction is never "negated". An umpire will always acknowledge the obstruction even if the runner attains the base entitled to or one beyond. Since the BR clearly showed that he could reach 2nd base without being obstructed, he is at least entitled to that base and any runner forced to advance, because of the penalty of obstruction, will do so.
Use whatever term you would like, negated, disregarded, or nullified. Now that I think about it, nullified is probably the best term. This was discussed on the field at the JEA DC last fall. They actually discussed the best term to use when obstruction or interference is nullified. BTW. I never said in any of my post that the obstruction was not to be acknowledged. It was acknowledged in the OP. I'm dealing with the aftermath in my post.

+1 to Reed also. The best I have read on the three + forums that are running this question.
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
infeild fly, call/no call canump Softball 15 Sat Oct 18, 2008 11:49am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Does one call relate to the last call? Tee Basketball 28 Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1