![]() |
|
|
|||
NCAA Rules Questions
Here are a couple to consider:
Two outs. B9 bats in place of the proper batter, B8, and grounds out to end the inning. The defensive team did not notice the improper batter and leaves the field. a.The defensive team can appeal batting out-of-order from the previous half-inning if the next half-inning hasn't started. b.B1 is the batter that should be leading off the next inning if there was no appeal. c.B9 should be the next proper batter to lead off the next inning. d.If B8 leads off the next inning, B8 is not batting out of order. I know this should be easy, but I have thought about it too much! -_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_ R1, R3, one out. The batter's line drive is caught by F1. Both runners are moving on the pitch. F1 sees that R1 is way off first base and leisurely tosses the ball to F3 to double up R1 for the third out. While this is taking place, R3 has touched home plate prior to the third out at first base. The plate umpire waits until both teams have completely changed sides and awards the old offensive team a run. a.The plate umpire awards the old offensive team a run and the inning continues. b.The previous defensive team's coach can have a valid dead-ball appeal to negate the run. c.There is no score on this play, the inning is over. d.The previous defensive team cannot appeal because they did not do it before all infielders left the field and the catcher had left the dirt area around home plate. Timing play? If the players all left the field there is no appeal. Thanks for the advice. |
|
|||
In your first one B is correct, but I believe A is also correct as per the following:
SECTION 11. A batter is out when: a. On appeal by the opposing team, the individual fails to bat in the proper turn and another batter completes a time at bat in that place; (1) The proper batter may replace the improper batter before the batter becomes a runner or is put out, and any balls and strikes shall be counted against the proper batter. (2) If the improper batter becomes a base runner or is put out and an appeal is made to the umpire-in-chief before a pitch to the next batter of either team, or a play or attempted play, the proper batter is declared out and all runners return to bases held before action by the improper batter. However, any advances by a runner(s), (e.g., stolen base, balk, wild pitch, passed ball) while the improper batter is at bat are legal. If the proper batter is declared out, the next person in the lineup shall be the batter. Food for thought. In the second one A and D both seem correct. The run scores and the defense can not appeal. Probably D though. |
|
|||
Quote:
On the second one, A is not correct because the run is not an awarded run. Just my take on it. |
|
|||
Quote:
Except FED. Last edited by dash_riprock; Thu Feb 10, 2011 at 05:53pm. |
|
|||
The second question involves lousy mechanics. PU should indicate the run scores when the 3rd out is called (which is going to be right after R3 touches the plate). Waiting 'til the teams change sides is not the right way to do it. It's a time play - you owe them an answer.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NCAA Questions | Mark Dexter | Football | 5 | Mon Sep 24, 2007 09:48am |
NCAA rules questions - Wrong # in book | pizanno | Basketball | 5 | Wed Feb 23, 2005 01:35pm |
NCAA questions | Jay R | Basketball | 13 | Thu Oct 09, 2003 07:53am |
NCAA Questions | Jay R | Basketball | 6 | Fri Mar 07, 2003 05:24pm |
2 NCAA questions | ChuckElias | Basketball | 3 | Mon Oct 21, 2002 02:11pm |