![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
Quote:
A fly ball over foul territory with a defender under it is neither fair nor foul. The fact that if it were to fall or be touched while over foul territory would make it foul, it is not until, after that "something" happens. If the ball is caught over foul territory it's still in play, why, because it did not become a foul ball.
__________________
SLAS |
|
|||
Quote:
e) A foul ball is not caught, in which case runners return to their bases. The umpire-inchief shall not put the ball in play until all runners have retouched their bases; Live/dead is always dependent on one thing on a foul ball. Wither it was caught or uncaught. Uncaught, ball is dead. Caught the ball remains live. The rulebook is meant to be read, not for you to just look at the nice little diagrams. |
|
|||
Quote:
The 2.00 definition of Foul Ball which you posted above. 5.09 The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out, when— (e) A foul ball is not caught, in which case runners return to their bases. This is necessary because "caught" is the other possible outcome 6.05 A batter is out when— (a) His fair or foul fly ball (other than a foul tip) is legally caught by a fielder; Rule 6.05(a) Comment: A fielder may reach into, but not step into, a dugout to make a catch, and if he holds the ball, the catch shall be allowed. A fielder, in order to make a catch on a foul ball nearing a dugout or other out-of-play area (such as the stands), must have one or both feet on or over the playing surface (including the lip of the dugout) and neither foot on the ground inside the dugout or in any other out-of-play area. Ball is in play, unless the fielder, after making a legal catch, falls into a dugout or other out-of-play area, in which case the ball is dead. 7.08 Any runner is out when— (d) He fails to retouch his base after a fair or foul ball is legally caught before he, or his base, is tagged by a fielder. 10.08 SACRIFICES The official scorer shall: (d) Score a sacrifice fly when, before two are out, the batter hits a ball in flight handled by an outfielder or an infielder running in the outfield in fair or foul territory that (1) is caught, and a runner scores after the catch, or (2) is dropped, and a runner scores, if in the scorer’s judgment the runner could have scored after the catch had the fly been caught.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Plus, the ball is fair or foul as soon as it's touched. It doesn't become caught until some time later (it might be just an instant later).
|
|
|||
Quote:
No need for concern. The number of informed umpires in this thread is far larger than the number of the uninformed and stubborn. On any board and in any association, there's always one. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Bunt foul with 2 strikes, running | bobbrix | Softball | 3 | Wed May 23, 2007 07:59am |
Batter runs to 1B on 2 Strikes | bigsig | Softball | 12 | Mon Oct 23, 2006 02:46pm |
(Slap?)Bunt Foul w/ 2 Strikes | mach3 | Softball | 2 | Fri May 09, 2003 06:51pm |
Was it a bunt, or a swing with 2 strikes | Del-Blue | Softball | 11 | Wed Apr 23, 2003 12:21pm |
Balls / Strikes - Talking to F2 or Batter | PeteBooth | Baseball | 2 | Wed Sep 06, 2000 10:53pm |