![]() |
|
|
|||
Would have to see it, but if B/R is within a step of the base he can exit the running lane to touch the base. However, he's coaching his players to do that hoping that the umpires aren't trained enough to actually call it.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
Quote:
I am assuming that "inside the running lane" in the OP means out of the lane on the infield side. If that's not the case, I retract everything. |
|
|||
That is correct. B/R running (just barely on the grass) towards first base. Just as he gets to first, the ball, F3's glove & runners leg (in front base, fair side), all meet at the same time, causing F3 to drop ball.
What ya got? |
|
|||
Quote:
The rule supports the quality throw concept on the thought that you cannot interfere with catching an uncatchable throw. A runner can exit the lane at the base to touch the base, BUT - if he's out of the lane all the way he's then subject to an interference call.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
"Agreed, but the practical implication of "quality throw" is nearly identical to "the throw must come from the box." I agree it's not an absolute, but I've never had a quality throw from outside the box hit a runner to cause interference."
So, in Fed, B/R running outside the running lane to first base, a throw from F6, over the F3's head, could result in interference? (In Fed, the throw does have to be a quality one). |
|
|||
Quote:
This thread concerns running lane interference, which can only be called on a BR, and only when certain conditions are met (different conditions for FED and OBR). Two kinds of INT, with two sets of criteria of application.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
In FED, if (a) the BR is out of the running lane, and (b) the BR is "between" the thrower and F3 (or whoever is at first), then a poor throw is presumed to have been caused by the BR and the BR is out. The requirement in (b) is not met in your play. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Running Lane | mccann | Softball | 17 | Mon Oct 03, 2016 01:29pm |
Running lane | grimjack5150 | Softball | 7 | Sat May 10, 2008 10:51pm |
The Running Lane | tcblue13 | Softball | 21 | Sun Jul 15, 2007 01:46pm |
Running Lane | jicecone | Baseball | 7 | Wed Jun 26, 2002 11:08pm |
Running Lane | Bandit | Softball | 2 | Wed Apr 11, 2001 10:27am |