Running Start behind Third
I had always thought that an R3 who established a running start behind 3rd base during a tag up would be called out in a similar manner as a runner receiving a coach's assist, or a following runner passing preceding runner, etc. But I just learned that in OBR, it's an appeal call (so an umpire should remain silent until the defense makes a proper appeal of R3's running start). And this is written explicitly in the OBR rule book.
Is this also true for FED? I see the "running start" violation in the list of "Runner is out" actions that includes coach's assist, passing a runner, etc. in the Fed Rule Book (8-4-2-O). Also Case Book 8.4.2.M says "A runner is called out at the moment he passes a preceding runner, but the ball remains live. Acts such as attempts of a runner to profit by running too far from the baseline to avoid a tag, or outside the three-foot lane while advancing to first, or running the bases in reverse, or otherwise making a travesty of the game may not be appealed. The umpire calls the runner out without waiting for the defensive player to call attention to the act." I always thought that "running start" would be included in such acts. Can someone point to me in the FED Rule or CASE Books where it is explicitly stated that running start is an "appeal play?" I can't find it in either...
|