The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 23, 2010, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
OK, Mr. UIC has seen the responses and believes me on the appeal sitch. He doesn't believe me on the base award of home. Can someone please elucidate?
MLBUM (I think they're for sale at Evans' site. They were at umpire,org for a while (got mine there). In the PBUC manual it's in section 6.11 Play 2. Buy it at the same place.


5.10 AWARD MADE FROM ORIGINAL BASE AFTER CATCH

A runner who is forced to return to a base after a catch must retouch his original base even though he may have been awarded additional bases on the play. The runner may retouch while the ball is dead (provided the runner does so before reaching the next base-see Section 5.11), and the award is then made from his original base. (See Casebook Comments following Official Baseball Rule 7.05(i).)

Play: Runner on first, one out. Batter flies out to right field for second out. However, runner on first thought there were two out and is between second and third when the ball is caught. Right fielder's throw to first is wild and goes into the dugout. Runner is between second and third when the wild throw is made.

Ruling: Runner is initially awarded home (two bases from his position at the time of the throw). However, while the ball is dead, the runner must return to and retouch first base. Furthermore, because the runner was between second and third when the ball went out of play, he must return to first before reaching and touching third (his next base). If the runner touches third, he may not return to first; and if the defensive team appeals, the runner is out at first. However, if the runner properly returns and retouches first before reaching third, the award then becomes third base (two bases from his original base).
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 23, 2010, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Thanks guys.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 23, 2010, 01:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
MLBUM (I think they're for sale at Evans' site. They were at umpire,org for a while (got mine there). In the PBUC manual it's in section 6.11 Play 2. Buy it at the same place.


5.10 AWARD MADE FROM ORIGINAL BASE AFTER CATCH

A runner who is forced to return to a base after a catch must retouch his original base even though he may have been awarded additional bases on the play. The runner may retouch while the ball is dead (provided the runner does so before reaching the next base-see Section 5.11), and the award is then made from his original base. (See Casebook Comments following Official Baseball Rule 7.05(i).)

Play: Runner on first, one out. Batter flies out to right field for second out. However, runner on first thought there were two out and is between second and third when the ball is caught. Right fielder's throw to first is wild and goes into the dugout. Runner is between second and third when the wild throw is made.

Ruling: Runner is initially awarded home (two bases from his position at the time of the throw). However, while the ball is dead, the runner must return to and retouch first base. Furthermore, because the runner was between second and third when the ball went out of play, he must return to first before reaching and touching third (his next base). If the runner touches third, he may not return to first; and if the defensive team appeals, the runner is out at first. However, if the runner properly returns and retouches first before reaching third, the award then becomes third base (two bases from his original base).
This sitch is only valid if the base runner attempts to return to retouch 1st base after the ball is thrown into DBT. you would not "automaticly" award 3rd beacuse your award should not tip the offense or defense that a possible infraction has been made. It is up to the offensive team to correct the base running mistake. The initial ruling should be an award of home, then if the base runner returns to retouch 1st, then you stop the runner @ 3rd hand have fun explaining to coaches what just happened :-)
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 23, 2010, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fittske View Post
This sitch is only valid if the base runner attempts to return to retouch 1st base after the ball is thrown into DBT. you would not "automaticly" award 3rd beacuse your award should not tip the offense or defense that a possible infraction has been made. It is up to the offensive team to correct the base running mistake. The initial ruling should be an award of home, then if the base runner returns to retouch 1st, then you stop the runner @ 3rd hand have fun explaining to coaches what just happened :-)
Yeah ... that's exactly what he said. Award home, change if/when runner retouches.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Left early on a caught fly MD Longhorn Softball 21 Tue Aug 24, 2010 01:55pm
Don't get caught off guard Adam Basketball 14 Wed Jan 20, 2010 06:49am
Sorry red, er, ah, I mean, caught ya red and your welcome soundedlikeastrike Softball 0 Sun Jul 19, 2009 12:39am
Ball caught in DBT rwest Softball 6 Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:38pm
Not caught with your pants down John Schaefferkoetter Basketball 8 Mon Feb 11, 2002 08:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1