The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

mbcrowder,

That's why I said "essentially" rather than "completely".

The fact that the ball was not batted into play had absolutely no bearing on the proper award in this particular sitch, because te awards would have been identical if the catcher had been fielding a fair batted ball rather than chasing a deflected pitch.

You would have to have an R1 for the distinction to come into play, and even with an R1 it would be "rare" for it to make a difference.

And, he got the award correct.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
mbcrowder,

That's why I said "essentially" rather than "completely".

The fact that the ball was not batted into play had absolutely no bearing on the proper award in this particular sitch, because te awards would have been identical if the catcher had been fielding a fair batted ball rather than chasing a deflected pitch.
OK, that part's just completely untrue...

Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
You would have to have an R1 for the distinction to come into play, and even with an R1 it would be "rare" for it to make a difference.

And, he got the award correct.

JM
Well, I did say sort of... here's the problem with saying partner was essentially correct though. "Partner was 100% positive, that we had a first play from the infield, so the 2 base award would be from the time of the pitch."

Based just on what partner said, partner was also 100% wrong. The wrong answer just happened to put the runner on the right base in this case.

And unless you're changing the BR into R1 mid-play, it's not true that your would have to have an R1 for the distinction to come into play. The more important distinction is that since this is TOT and not TOP - where the BR was when the THROW was made is important. If the OP walks away from this thread with just your answer - that partner was correct, he will not even notice where BR is the next time this comes up, and he will get this wrong in a similar but slightly altered situation. If BR is to first base when the throw initiates (a little uncommon in this exact OP, but entirely possible if this was a bad overthrow and it was R2 trying to score, or R3 was slow, etc) THAT is when the distinction comes into play.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 06:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Mike,

Apparently, I didn't make my point very clearly. I will "stipulate" that it is technically incorrect to consider this a TOP award, because, as you suggest, it is properly and technically a TOT award.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
OK, that part's just completely untrue...
Bear with me a minute, but my statement was absolutely true within the rules of baseball.

When a ball is thrown out of play by the defense, runners are awarded 2 bases. The "starting point" for the award is either TOP or TOT. So, regardless of the circumstances, any R2 or R3 is awarded home. The BR is going to get either 2B, or, if he had already reached 1B at the time the wild throw was released, 3B - regardless of whether he became a runner on a batted ball or a pitch that was ball 4 or an U3K.

So, unless you've got an R1, the TOP/TOT distinction is not material to ruling on the play in this sitch.

If you DID have an R1, and he fell down or was stealing & the batter hit a fly ball that he thought would be caught and was returning, or something like that, and both the BR & R1 were between 1B and 2B at the time the throw was released, then the distinction would matter - oh, wait. No, it wouldn't.

I understand that there ARE scenarios where the TOP/TOT ditinction could make a difference in determining awards. But I'd be hard pressed to come up with a scenario where the ball stayed in the infield and it mattered. I guess a run-down could do it, but, it'll be obvious.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Putting Time on the Clock for Requested Time Out CMHCoachNRef Basketball 10 Sun Mar 01, 2009 09:20pm
Long Time Lurker, First Time Poster SoInZebra Basketball 122 Mon Mar 26, 2007 04:10pm
Another long time listener, first time caller Fifth And Goal Basketball 11 Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:30am
Lag time when coach calls time out JeffTheRef Basketball 6 Mon Jan 12, 2004 03:43pm
When is it time to call Time / Dead ball? Deion Softball 1 Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1