The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2010, 10:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 469
Let's take a trip..

to the third world. A friend posed a 3rd world play to me the other night, and I have to admit I honestly don't know the correct response. - Any rule set -

Runners on 1st and 2nd. D coach gets time to converse with his infield. While that's happening, O coach talks to his runners and batter. After it's all over, play is resumed with R2 and R3. No one notices (umpires, coaches, Mom...no one). The batter gets a base hit and scores both runners. Then the D coachs realizes what happened and approaches for a resolution. What do you do?

I have a feeling that there will be a coach not participating in the remainder of the game.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2010, 10:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
I would treat this as similar to the play where the coach tells the runners to switch bases in order to move the faster runner into scoring position.

Call time. Eject the coach and the runners for unsporting conduct. Put a sub in for the runner who was formerly R1 and put him back on 2B, score the one who was R2, and leave the BR on 1B (they all reached base legitimately).

Somebody here will want some outs called, but the defense earned none and the offensive cheating prevented none.

Next batter.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2010, 10:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,458
Eject the coach fo sure.

Players? Depends on their age. Little guys? Naw. They're just following orders from an idiot adult.

Now if you had R1 at third, and R2 at second, THEN you've got an out, when you put it in play. Hey, sometimes you've got to be creative to get outs when coaches try this stuff. This may just be how you remembered it, before the ball was hit.

Yup, R1 passed R2, as soon as the ball was put in play. R1 is out, score R2, eject the coach, and anyone else who wishes to argue with you about it.

That would be fun.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2010, 11:06pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I would treat this as similar to the play where the coach tells the runners to switch bases in order to move the faster runner into scoring position.

Call time. Eject the coach and the runners for unsporting conduct. Put a sub in for the runner who was formerly R1 and put him back on 2B, score the one who was R2, and leave the BR on 1B (they all reached base legitimately).

Somebody here will want some outs called, but the defense earned none and the offensive cheating prevented none.

Next batter.
Your theory is flawed. Shame on the umpire (PU or BU) who is so inattentive he doesn't know the situation when there is a short stoppage in play. Keep your head in the game next time.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 06:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler View Post
Your theory is flawed. Shame on the umpire (PU or BU) who is so inattentive he doesn't know the situation when there is a short stoppage in play. Keep your head in the game next time.
I don't see the correlation. What does a brain fart have to do with his theory? His theory sounds logical and well thought out to me. Yes, we should be attentive to the situation, location of runners etc. However, that wasn't the point of my question. And keep in mind - no one said it happened. It was, as stated, a third world play.

mbyron - I hadn't thought of it that way.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by ManInBlue View Post
mbyron - I hadn't thought of it that way.
How were you thinking of it? I've thought of some variations, such as putting the runners (or their subs) back on their bases, awarding the batter 1B, and moving the runners up because they're forced to advance by the award. Takes both runs off the board that way.

Depending on the quality of the batter's base hit, this solution might be superior.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 09:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
How were you thinking of it?
I couldn't make anything make sense, and I just stopped trying to figure it out - if we're being honest about it.

When he asked me, I said, "Well, hell, I don't know" He said, "Well it might just happen in this game, so pay attention." Then he jogged to first base. Jackass

Nothing jumped up quite as simple, nor as easy, as your solution.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 01, 2010, 04:53am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by ManInBlue View Post
I don't see the correlation.

It was, as stated, a third world play.
Third world plays happen to third world umpires.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 01, 2010, 10:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler View Post
Third world plays happen to third world umpires.
Really? Is baseball that well played where you're at? Or do we have different definitions of what constitutes "third world" baseball?

I don't know that I've had plays of the type that get posted here, but I've had plenty of games where players didn't know their a$$ from their elbow, never mind what plays to make. In some games I've had, I've felt like it's a game of 18-on-2; a textbook example of why God gave man the concept of time - so we could invent the time-limit rule.

So how does it become the umpires fault when crap like that goes down? We can't coach 'em, and can't berate 'em, so where does that leave the umpire?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 07:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler View Post
Your theory is flawed. Shame on the umpire (PU or BU) who is so inattentive he doesn't know the situation when there is a short stoppage in play. Keep your head in the game next time.
mbyron's "theory" is excellent. It is your [implied] "theory" [namely, that if the umpire notices the shenanigans before any further advance takes place, there is a no-penalty do-over] which is inadequate.

Yeah, I'm probably gonna notice before I put the ball in play; and when I do, the same people are gonna cease being participants in tonight's contest.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2010, 11:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I would treat this as similar to the play where the coach tells the runners to switch bases in order to move the faster runner into scoring position.

Call time. Eject the coach and the runners for unsporting conduct. Put a sub in for the runner who was formerly R1 and put him back on 2B, score the one who was R2, and leave the BR on 1B (they all reached base legitimately).

Somebody here will want some outs called, but the defense earned none and the offensive cheating prevented none.

Next batter.
Yep.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 12:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Sounds good

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I would treat this as similar to the play where the coach tells the runners to switch bases in order to move the faster runner into scoring position.

Call time. Eject the coach and the runners for unsporting conduct. Put a sub in for the runner who was formerly R1 and put him back on 2B, score the one who was R2, and leave the BR on 1B (they all reached base legitimately).

Somebody here will want some outs called, but the defense earned none and the offensive cheating prevented none.

Next batter.
I would ditto that. Makes sense.

Thanks
David
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 31, 2010, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by ManInBlue View Post
Runners on 1st and 2nd. D coach gets time to converse with his infield. While that's happening, O coach talks to his runners and batter. After it's all over, play is resumed with R2 and R3.
We're all assuming that the runners just moved up one. But what if R1 was on third, and R2 stayed put?

You put the ball in play, and then call time. Call R3(?) out for passing R2, eject him, and the coach. But leave R2 alone.


Why wouldn't you do that?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USC/Kansas OOB trip Nevadaref Basketball 12 Tue Dec 05, 2006 07:14pm
Definition of a Trip aepitaz Baseball 11 Sat Jul 24, 2004 10:45pm
U-Trip Balls Dukat Softball 6 Mon Apr 19, 2004 09:18am
Unintentional Trip rocky50 Basketball 22 Fri Jan 16, 2004 02:08pm
Trip/or no trip? J_Biz Lacrosse 2 Mon May 14, 2001 08:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1