The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack (1) Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  1 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 17, 2010, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 20
Base on Balls

No outs runners on first and second,3-0 count on the batter,
on the next pitch both runners take off, pitch is ball 4.
Runner on second breaking for third slides past the bag at 3,
catcher throws to third and 3rd. baseman tags runner, is runner safe or out?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 17, 2010, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

boss21,

Let's see...

The R2 has already completed his award and is tagged while off his base.

I'm going with OUT!

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 17, 2010, 05:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
The only reason somebody might think he's safe would be the erroneous idea that a BB is a dead ball award.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 17, 2010, 05:48pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
100% out. In terms of mechanics, your timing will be important here so you don't have to make two different calls on the same play.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 17, 2010, 07:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 605
A very similar play happened to Kerwin Danley in Oakland (vs. NYY) 10 to 12 years ago.

R1, three balls to batter, two outs. R1 takes off and slides. He overslid second base and Jeter put the tag on him. Danley just put his hands up and said "it was ball four" (or words to that effect). Jeter then pointed out that R1 had overslid the bag. Danley had the look of "oh my god, you're right" and banged the runner out.

I've seen this play on tape several times.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 17, 2010, 07:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawump View Post
A very similar play happened to Kerwin Danley in Oakland (vs. NYY) 10 to 12 years ago.

R1, three balls to batter, two outs. R1 takes off and slides. He overslid second base and Jeter put the tag on him. Danley just put his hands up and said "it was ball four" (or words to that effect). Jeter then pointed out that R1 had overslid the bag. Danley had the look of "oh my god, you're right" and banged the runner out.

I've seen this play on tape several times.
Of course, what he was supposed to do was watch the play as it happened. Then, call it accordingly.

If R1 doesn't overslide, then just say "It was Ball Four."
If R1 does overslide or come off the base after touching it, call the out.

Even the pros mess up the simplest of calls sometimes. Just to clarify, to me, this is a simple call.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 17, 2010, 08:34pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
I think we all agree that it's a simple call...but the mechanics are important so that we can make it look like we know what we are doing too. The Danley example was a good one to post.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 17, 2010, 08:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by boss21 View Post
No outs runners on first and second,3-0 count on the batter,
on the next pitch both runners take off, pitch is ball 4.
Runner on second breaking for third slides past the bag at 3,
catcher throws to third and 3rd. baseman tags runner, is runner safe or out?
OBR: Rule 7.04(b) Comment: A runner forced to advance without liability to be put out may advance past the base to which he is entitled only at his peril.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 17, 2010, 09:27pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by boss21 View Post
No outs runners on first and second,3-0 count on the batter,
on the next pitch both runners take off, pitch is ball 4.
Runner on second breaking for third slides past the bag at 3,
catcher throws to third and 3rd. baseman tags runner, is runner safe or out?
Out, but can't see the logic behind double steal on 3-0 count...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 18, 2010, 06:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG View Post
Out, but can't see the logic behind double steal on 3-0 count...
Element of surprise?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 18, 2010, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lincoln NE
Posts: 210
Intentional Base on Balls?

What would happen if the runner was past the bag on an Intentional Base on Balls? That could be the mix up here.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 18, 2010, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert E. Harrison View Post
What would happen if the runner was past the bag on an Intentional Base on Balls? That could be the mix up here.
In FED (and NAIA?), an IBB is a dead ball, so there's no "tag" to be made if a runner goes past the base.

In other codes, it's a live ball, so the same rules apply -- runners move past the bag at their own peril.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 19, 2010, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
In FED (and NAIA?), an IBB is a dead ball, so there's no "tag" to be made if a runner goes past the base.
Bob -

In NAIA, I have no pitches required, ball stays live.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 19, 2010, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by LittleLeagueBob View Post
Bob -

In NAIA, I have no pitches required, ball stays live.
Probably right. I work only a couple of NAIA games a year, and pull out the rules just before those games.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/57578-base-balls.html
Posted By For Type Date
You make the call - This thread Refback Thu May 24, 2012 09:58pm

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Base on Balls Issue. GaryBarrentine Softball 15 Thu May 08, 2008 08:28am
inadvertant base on balls archer Softball 16 Thu Apr 26, 2007 02:43pm
base on balls ump14 Baseball 2 Sun Jul 23, 2006 08:03am
base on balls twhidd Baseball 6 Tue Apr 20, 2004 07:27pm
Base on balls, then continue to second rafking Softball 2 Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1