The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 16, 2010, 09:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
My understanding is that no runner can advance on Interference.

MLB also talks about an "intervening play" which you did not address in your post. There are some times where a run could count w/ less than 2 out and you could still have INT...but I think you return the runner on the plays your describing.
Thats my first inclination also, but in last of 9th situation, I might think differently if both runners from 1B and 3B had already touched their next respective bases, which case I would think the game is over and interference ignored.
__________________
A Double Bonus is not really double.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 16, 2010, 10:26pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant View Post
Thats my first inclination also, but in last of 9th situation, I might think differently if both runners from 1B and 3B had already touched their next respective bases, which case I would think the game is over and interference ignored.
Why would the B9 be treated any differently from B3 in the situations you are describing?

No run can score if the 3rd out is made at 1B before the B/R reaches 1B.

Rich posted the rule and there are many, many case plays that support the rule.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 16, 2010, 10:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
Why would the B9 be treated any differently from B3 in the situations you are describing?

No run can score if the 3rd out is made at 1B before the B/R reaches 1B.

Rich posted the rule and there are many, many case plays that support the rule.
With one out, if the runner on 1st reached 2nd, the only out that can be made is the 2nd out on the batter. Since a runner on 1B has touched 2B the force situation is off and the run would score even if that runner was eventually put out.
__________________
A Double Bonus is not really double.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 16, 2010, 11:28pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Here are some principles...please cite others if you find them:

If the umpire declares the batter, batter-runner or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was, in the judgment of the umpire legally touched at the time of the interference unless otherwise provided by the rules.

7.08b comment ..."no runner shall advance on an interference play and a runner is considered to occupy a base until he legally has reached the next succeeding base"

J/R page 109: If a batter/runner has not yet touched or passed first base at the time of interference, all runners not out must return to their TOP base.

Exceptions (the one that matters here) is the intervening play.

Also read OBR rule 2.00 "Interference"
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 17, 2010, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant View Post
Thats my first inclination also, but in last of 9th situation, I might think differently if both runners from 1B and 3B had already touched their next respective bases, which case I would think the game is over and interference ignored.

The play is the same regardless of the outs or the inning. BR is out, other runners return (okay -- if the BR was the third out, the runners don't literally return, but they do for scoring purposes).

Only if there's an intervening play would R3's run count.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 19, 2010, 08:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 469
Bottom 9, one out R1 & R3. batter hit with throw to 1B. 2outs now still R1 & R3. Next batter hits grounder to F4, easy out at 1B - Top 10, tie score - lead off goes yard. Next 3 batters out 1-2-3. Home team goes 3 up-3 down. Visitors win in 10.

Not enforcing the rule changed the outcome. Why do you allow home team to win because it's B9?

We are there to enforce the rules. Rule says Batter out, runners return (as played in OP).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 20, 2010, 09:43pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeballanfant View Post
thats my first inclination also, but in last of 9th situation, i might think differently if both runners from 1b and 3b had already touched their next respective bases, which case i would think the game is over and interference ignored.
no
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Three-foot running lane question. kfo9494 Softball 4 Wed Jan 21, 2009 05:12pm
ASA 3-foot running lane SRW Softball 9 Tue Feb 19, 2008 04:38pm
Batter-Runner Running to first... Chukinrox Baseball 15 Wed Jul 26, 2006 08:33am
Batter/Runner Outside Running Lane blueump Baseball 8 Sun Apr 16, 2006 09:03am
Three Foot Running Lane batterup Baseball 5 Wed Jun 06, 2001 10:06am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1