![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A Double Bonus is not really double. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
No run can score if the 3rd out is made at 1B before the B/R reaches 1B. Rich posted the rule and there are many, many case plays that support the rule.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
With one out, if the runner on 1st reached 2nd, the only out that can be made is the 2nd out on the batter. Since a runner on 1B has touched 2B the force situation is off and the run would score even if that runner was eventually put out.
__________________
A Double Bonus is not really double. |
|
|||
|
Here are some principles...please cite others if you find them:
If the umpire declares the batter, batter-runner or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was, in the judgment of the umpire legally touched at the time of the interference unless otherwise provided by the rules. 7.08b comment ..."no runner shall advance on an interference play and a runner is considered to occupy a base until he legally has reached the next succeeding base" J/R page 109: If a batter/runner has not yet touched or passed first base at the time of interference, all runners not out must return to their TOP base. Exceptions (the one that matters here) is the intervening play. Also read OBR rule 2.00 "Interference"
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The play is the same regardless of the outs or the inning. BR is out, other runners return (okay -- if the BR was the third out, the runners don't literally return, but they do for scoring purposes). Only if there's an intervening play would R3's run count. |
|
|||
|
Bottom 9, one out R1 & R3. batter hit with throw to 1B. 2outs now still R1 & R3. Next batter hits grounder to F4, easy out at 1B - Top 10, tie score - lead off goes yard. Next 3 batters out 1-2-3. Home team goes 3 up-3 down. Visitors win in 10.
Not enforcing the rule changed the outcome. Why do you allow home team to win because it's B9? We are there to enforce the rules. Rule says Batter out, runners return (as played in OP). |
|
|||
|
no
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Three-foot running lane question. | kfo9494 | Softball | 4 | Wed Jan 21, 2009 05:12pm |
| ASA 3-foot running lane | SRW | Softball | 9 | Tue Feb 19, 2008 04:38pm |
| Batter-Runner Running to first... | Chukinrox | Baseball | 15 | Wed Jul 26, 2006 08:33am |
| Batter/Runner Outside Running Lane | blueump | Baseball | 8 | Sun Apr 16, 2006 09:03am |
| Three Foot Running Lane | batterup | Baseball | 5 | Wed Jun 06, 2001 10:06am |