![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
6.02(b) only applies if the batter steps out of the box without obtaining Time, and the pitcher delivers the pitch. 6.02(a) The batter shall take his position in the batter’s box promptly when it is his time at bat. 6.02(b) The batter shall not leave his position in the batter’s box after the pitcher comes to Set Position, or starts his windup. PENALTY: If the pitcher pitches, the umpire shall call “Ball” or “Strike,” as the case may be. Rule 6.02(b) Comment: The batter leaves the batter’s box at the risk of having a strike delivered and called, unless he requests the umpire to call “Time.” The batter is not at liberty to step in and out of the batter’s box at will. Once a batter has taken his position in the batter’s box, he shall not be permitted to step out of the batter’s box in order to use the resin or the pine tar rag, unless there is a delay in the game action or, in the judgment of the umpires, weather conditions warrant an exception. Umpires will not call “Time” at the request of the batter or any member of his team once the pitcher has started his windup or has come to a set position even though the batter claims “dust in his eyes,” “steamed glasses,” “didn’t get the sign” or for any other cause. Umpires may grant a hitter’s request for “Time” once he is in the batter’s box, but the umpire should eliminate hitters walking out of the batter’s box without reason. If umpires are not lenient, batters will understand that they are in the batter’s box and they must remain there until the ball is pitched. See Rule 6.02(d). The following two paragraphs are additional material for Rule 6.02(b) Comment, for Major League play only: If pitcher delays once the batter is in his box and the umpire feels that the delay is not justified he may allow the batter to step out of the box momentarily. If after the pitcher starts his windup or comes to a “set position” with a runner on, he does not go through with his pitch because the batter has stepped out of the box, it shall not be called a balk. Both the pitcher and batter have violated a rule and the umpire shall call time and both the batter and pitcher start over from “scratch.” 6.02(c) pertains to batters refusing to take their place in the box, and no pitch is delivered: 6.02(c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out. Rule 6.02(c) Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 Last edited by SanDiegoSteve; Sun Jul 26, 2009 at 02:37am. Reason: adding emphasis |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
[ASA Co-Ed] No advance on IFR? | Stat-Man | Softball | 12 | Thu Jul 23, 2009 08:53am |
Runner attempts to advance during dead ball | bigwes68 | Baseball | 32 | Wed Apr 30, 2008 07:38am |
Little League 9-10 yr old - Base runner hit by batted ball... Do runners advance? | mike miles | Baseball | 2 | Thu Jul 21, 2005 08:46am |
runner advance on dead ball | crumii | Softball | 2 | Sat Jun 11, 2005 09:31pm |
Foul tip can runner advance | klp3515 | Baseball | 1 | Tue Apr 13, 2004 09:54pm |