The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 08, 2009, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Your post contradicts itself: the first paragraph suggests that the umpire called it wrong on purpose, but the second suggests that he blew it because it's a tough call at that level. What are you saying?
I'll rephrase, it happens all the time that umpires might miss a call when the fielder tags with the glove and the ball in hand.

Especially at high levels (players that shave) because the action is so fast and the players, like Pedroia did quickly put the ball in his glove as he moved out of the play.

When the umpire saw the glove, the ball was in it since Pedroia was on the outfield side of the bag making the tag.

I would never suggest that an umpire makes a call wrong on purpose, but in the spirit of the debate, if the ball is there long before the runner, yes most umpires will call the out.

Thanks
DAvid
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1