The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 07, 2009, 08:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Although your "instincts" led you to the right call in this case, you'd be better served to know the rule.
The only spot in the rulebook I found is this: "The following two paragraphs are additional material for Rule 6.02(b) Comment, for Major League play only:
If pitcher delays once the batter is in his box and the umpire feels that the delay is not justified he may allow the batter to step out of the box momentarily.
If after the pitcher starts his windup or comes to a “set position” with a runner on, he does not go through with his pitch because the batter has stepped out of the box, it shall not be called a balk. Both the pitcher and batter have violated a rule and the umpire shall call time and both the batter and pitcher start over from “scratch.”"

It refers specifically to Major League play only. Is there somewhere else in the rulebook that covers all baseball??
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 07, 2009, 08:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
That covers your baseball: it's excluding MiLB, which has its own rule.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 07, 2009, 08:52am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by tibear View Post
The only spot in the rulebook I found is this: "The following two paragraphs are additional material for Rule 6.02(b) Comment, for Major League play only:
If pitcher delays once the batter is in his box and the umpire feels that the delay is not justified he may allow the batter to step out of the box momentarily.
If after the pitcher starts his windup or comes to a “set position” with a runner on, he does not go through with his pitch because the batter has stepped out of the box, it shall not be called a balk. Both the pitcher and batter have violated a rule and the umpire shall call time and both the batter and pitcher start over from “scratch.”"

It refers specifically to Major League play only. Is there somewhere else in the rulebook that covers all baseball??
The paragraphs were added to distinguish Major League rules (which is what our modified OBR games are all based upon) from National Association specific games, which have their own special rule where an automatic strike is called without a pitch being necessary.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 07, 2009, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 362
Thanks for the clarification guys.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Does one call relate to the last call? Tee Basketball 28 Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1