![]() |
|
|
|||
Don't you have to decide if it was deflected or thrown first? If deflected it could be a HR or 2B depending on where it was deflected or where went over the fence. If thrown it's 2 bases.
6.09(h) Any fair fly ball is deflected by the fielder into the stands, or over the fence into foul territory, in which case the batter shall be entitled to advance to second base; but if deflected into the stands or over the fence in fair territory, the batter shall be entitled to a home run. However, should such a fair fly be deflected at a point less than 250 feet from home plate, the batter shall be entitled to two bases only. If it's a deflection at a point more than 250 feet from the plate it's a HR is it not? Think Canseco. 7.05 (h) Two bases, if a fair ball bounces or is deflected into the stands outside the first or third base foul lines; or if it goes through or under a field fence, or through or under a scoreboard, or through or under shrubbery or vines on the fence; or if it sticks in such fence, scoreboard, shrubbery or vines; 7.05(g) Two bases when, with no spectators on the playing field, a thrown ball goes into the stands, . . .
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
As I read the OP, "the ball skipped into his glove." So this ball is no longer "in flight" and therefore cannot be a home run. I'm with 2 bases from TOP on this play. This seems pretty simple to explain to the managers, but they still may want to argue...
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman |
|
|||
MLBUM 5.8 has a pretty extensive listing of circumstance involving balls deflected out of play.
My summary: TOT if a player intentionally deflects a batted or thrown ball out of play; or has complete control before the ball is dropped, deflected, or kicked OOP. Otherwise, it is TOP. Of course, the award is 2 bases. |
|
|||
I didn't see it. However, I had the first game on the same field in the same wind. We had a pop up over the mound that F4 caught in short right field.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
I asked him whether he had judged that the fielder had intentionally flipped the ball up or whether he had control, and he said no. So I told him that it should have been TOP ("ground rule double"). He told me to look it up, 'cuz they had used the book on the field. ![]()
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Post Script to: "I played pro ball! Did you play pro ball?" | Kevin Finnerty | Baseball | 46 | Sat May 23, 2009 05:58pm |
"Wrong ball" play makes it to Pee-Wee ball | OverAndBack | Football | 32 | Sat Sep 22, 2007 03:00pm |
Legally putting ball in play, dead ball violations | BJ Moose | Baseball | 20 | Tue Aug 26, 2003 10:09am |
Ball Out of Play | tw1ns | Baseball | 5 | Wed Jun 04, 2003 08:42am |
ball out of play ? | Glen G | Softball | 6 | Tue May 20, 2003 11:05am |