![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|
|||
|
As a non-ump, I wonder how this "myth" keeps going...it's like the one "turn to the left" after running past first and the coach YELLS tag him tag him!! and the blue rings him up.
I just met the coach today, my boy was helping out, but it turns out we went to high school together. Maybe I should tell him, "Hey there's this really helpful forum....." Should I have discreetly approached the blue and reminded him? I know that the ump who got it right was upset when the "director" overturned the decision. I know both guys are studying up before the next game.. |
|
|||
|
You stated that this game was played under HS rules. Here's a case play to take with you next time.
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
The Case Play says it all.....thanks. I wonder if the "director" would understand this; it's pretty black and white. I can't believe the ump actually went looking for the guy. The ump who made the right call, I could tell, knew he was right, but didn't want to make a stand, I suppose.
|
|
|||
|
Sounds like a protest process. If the TD is the protest committee you go with wnat he rules - stupid as it might be.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
Again, you guys are nails on this stuff...almost makes me want to become an ump. Just to clarify, the TD didn't really say a complete sentence, he sort of gave a quick gesture/statement from above the stands, "Ball hit the hand (slight pause) (that's) part of the bat...foul ball."
I get a lot of help from the football guys on the other side of the forum. Are any of you crazy enough to do both? I respect the heck out of you guys, even when you ring up my boy! (Come on...that was way outside blue! :-) I try to keep that to myself! Last edited by More Cowbell; Tue Jun 16, 2009 at 07:41pm. |
|
|||
|
This happened in the Mets/Orioles game last night. The ball was originally ruled a foul ball, and as the training staff attended to Melvin Mora's hand (ball hit it) the umpires conferred and changed it to a strike three. Mora argued and could be seen pointing to the bat, like it hit both the bat and his hand. But I could not imagine a scenario where it would hit the bat FIRST then his hand. It would have had to be the other way around, and so the changed call was correct. I also can't imagine a simultaneous hit of hand/bat, since the hand is on the bat, not even with it.
Am I right? If the ball hits the hand AND the bat, it has to hit the hand first, right? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
One of two things:
A) A glutton for punishment B) A full-blown masochist
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Not only are the hands part of the bat . . . | greymule | Softball | 10 | Thu Aug 17, 2006 06:35pm |
| Hands are part of the bat?? | NSABlue | Softball | 12 | Mon Jun 06, 2005 01:51pm |
| Hands part of the bat, page 5... | JEL | Softball | 2 | Tue May 24, 2005 10:05am |
| Hands not part of the bat | Chess Ref | Softball | 7 | Fri Apr 08, 2005 09:51am |
| Hands part of bat | FLORIDA UMP | Baseball | 13 | Sun Apr 21, 2002 08:46pm |