View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 14, 2009, 07:49am
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
You stated that this game was played under HS rules. Here's a case play to take with you next time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2009 NFHS Case Book
7.3.4 SITUATION B: B1 is at bat with a three-ball, two-strike count. He swings
at the next pitch and the ball hits his right fist and, without contacting the bat,
goes into foul territory. F2 retrieves the ball and throws to F3 who is covering first
base and tags B1 with the ball. RULING: As soon as the ball hit the batter it
became dead. B1 is declared out [for strike 3]. To have the play ruled a foul ball, the ball would
have to have hit the bat of B1 before it touched his hand.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote