The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 09:54am
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
Illegal or just Ugly?

Anybody else see the "funky" windup the Aussie player from ASU used last night - hitched/double stepped/double pumped - however you want to describe it....the umpires, as best I could tell from TV, let it go....

It should have been...(fill in the blank)....

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 09:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

JJ,

That was NOT a legal delivery from the windup. Simply because he took MORE than one step backward/sideways and one step forward with his free foot.

I can't believe the crew let that go.

From NCAA 9-1-a:

Quote:
The pitcher shall not raise either foot from the ground, except that in the actual delivery of the ball to the batter, the pitcher may take one step backward or sideward and one step forward with the free foot.

PENALTYŚWarning on first offense. Illegal pitch shall be called on subsequent offenses.
JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ View Post
Anybody else see the "funky" windup the Aussie player from ASU used last night - hitched/double stepped/double pumped - however you want to describe it....the umpires, as best I could tell from TV, let it go....

It should have been...(fill in the blank)....

JJ
Didn't see it, is there video? would be interesting to see

thanks
David
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 06:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 96
I saw it and was shocked it wasn't called either. He starts his windup, brings his foot up then brings it back behind him then back and delivers a strike on the inside part of the plate. Only thing the PU did was punch out the batter. Pretty effective pitch!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 06:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmie24 View Post
I saw it and was shocked it wasn't called either. He starts his windup, brings his foot up then brings it back behind him then back and delivers a strike on the inside part of the plate. Only thing the PU did was punch out the batter. Pretty effective pitch!
You left out the double pump with the hands when he stepped back down.

It sure looked funky.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 08:07pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Odds are they've been letting it go all year, so they are not changing his (ab)normal delivery at this late juncture.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25

Last edited by SanDiegoSteve; Mon Jun 08, 2009 at 08:18pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 08:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Steve,

I didn't watch a whole lot of the game, but I only saw him do it once. I also understand that he hasn't pitched much this season due to injuries (and, according to his doctor should not be pitching now).

I doubt they've been "letting it go" all season. I think it was just so weird that the crew "brain cramped" on it.

From what I could tell, nobody from Clemson said "boo" about it. Really weird.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 10:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post
Odds are they've been letting it go all year, so they are not changing his (ab)normal delivery at this late juncture.
If that's what they did, they were just wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 09, 2009, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post
Odds are they've been letting it go all year, so they are not changing his (ab)normal delivery at this late juncture.
I only saw him do it the one time...shocked that the Clemson coach did not come out to argue the pitch
__________________
Every game is a big game
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 09, 2009, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 219
Bus Drivers

I have searched for a clip of this, can't find one. Does any one have a link to a clip of this delivery or is everyone who didn't see it going conjecture about how the umpires botched this?
__________________
Tony Carilli
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looks Ugly.........doesn't it? eventnyc Basketball 2 Wed Jan 19, 2005 04:30pm
Where do you draw the line between ugly and illegal? DaveASA/FED Volleyball 4 Sat Dec 11, 2004 01:21pm
Ugly sit.... chris s Baseball 3 Mon May 26, 2003 12:52am
Ugly, Ugly Game rockyroad Basketball 9 Thu Feb 20, 2003 02:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1