The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Illegal or just Ugly? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53547-illegal-just-ugly.html)

JJ Mon Jun 08, 2009 09:54am

Illegal or just Ugly?
 
Anybody else see the "funky" windup the Aussie player from ASU used last night - hitched/double stepped/double pumped - however you want to describe it....the umpires, as best I could tell from TV, let it go....

It should have been...(fill in the blank)....

JJ

UmpJM Mon Jun 08, 2009 09:59am

JJ,

That was NOT a legal delivery from the windup. Simply because he took MORE than one step backward/sideways and one step forward with his free foot.

I can't believe the crew let that go.

From NCAA 9-1-a:

Quote:

The pitcher shall not raise either foot from the ground, except that in the actual delivery of the ball to the batter, the pitcher may take one step backward or sideward and one step forward with the free foot.

PENALTYŚWarning on first offense. Illegal pitch shall be called on subsequent offenses.
JM

David B Mon Jun 08, 2009 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JJ (Post 607288)
Anybody else see the "funky" windup the Aussie player from ASU used last night - hitched/double stepped/double pumped - however you want to describe it....the umpires, as best I could tell from TV, let it go....

It should have been...(fill in the blank)....

JJ

Didn't see it, is there video? would be interesting to see

thanks
David

Jimmie24 Mon Jun 08, 2009 06:38pm

I saw it and was shocked it wasn't called either. He starts his windup, brings his foot up then brings it back behind him then back and delivers a strike on the inside part of the plate. Only thing the PU did was punch out the batter. Pretty effective pitch!

ManInBlue Mon Jun 08, 2009 06:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimmie24 (Post 607504)
I saw it and was shocked it wasn't called either. He starts his windup, brings his foot up then brings it back behind him then back and delivers a strike on the inside part of the plate. Only thing the PU did was punch out the batter. Pretty effective pitch!

You left out the double pump with the hands when he stepped back down.

It sure looked funky.

SanDiegoSteve Mon Jun 08, 2009 08:07pm

Odds are they've been letting it go all year, so they are not changing his (ab)normal delivery at this late juncture.

UmpJM Mon Jun 08, 2009 08:16pm

Steve,

I didn't watch a whole lot of the game, but I only saw him do it once. I also understand that he hasn't pitched much this season due to injuries (and, according to his doctor should not be pitching now).

I doubt they've been "letting it go" all season. I think it was just so weird that the crew "brain cramped" on it.

From what I could tell, nobody from Clemson said "boo" about it. Really weird.

JM

Mrumpiresir Mon Jun 08, 2009 10:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 607526)
Odds are they've been letting it go all year, so they are not changing his (ab)normal delivery at this late juncture.

If that's what they did, they were just wrong.

GoodwillRef Tue Jun 09, 2009 09:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 607526)
Odds are they've been letting it go all year, so they are not changing his (ab)normal delivery at this late juncture.

I only saw him do it the one time...shocked that the Clemson coach did not come out to argue the pitch

tcarilli Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:08am

Bus Drivers
 
I have searched for a clip of this, can't find one. Does any one have a link to a clip of this delivery or is everyone who didn't see it going conjecture about how the umpires botched this?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1