The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: At the base of the mountains
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by GA Umpire View Post
I agree with pointing fair but I am not going to hold it up forever. Once he comes about halfway, I am done trying to let them know MY call.

Also, why are you going to stand in his way? Now, that is interfering with the game and going too far IMO. Once he has established he is not going to acknowledge MY call, I am letting him do what he wants and calling him out as soon as he gets to the plate for abandonment(score the run).

But, like Rich pointed out, if he does not touch(pass) 1B and comes all the way back to HP, then I am calling him out and score no run since he was out before touching(passing) 1B.
Ga, if the BR retreats back toward home after touching the bag, he essentially re-instates the force at 1B, no run would score.
__________________
Its' not a matter of being right or wrong, it's a matter of working hard to get it right.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by justanotherblue View Post
Ga, if the BR retreats back toward home after touching the bag, he essentially re-instates the force at 1B, no run would score.
I will not re-instate the force unless the runner touches(passes back) over 1B. If he is heading toward 2B or swings around in foul territory and makes no effort to retouch 1B, I am only calling him out for abandonment which is a timing play.

To re-instate the force without the runner actually making some kind of gesture to retouch is going to cause more problems b/c he didn't actually touch(pass over) the base again. Making that call is grabbing the wrong end since the runner did nothing to re-instate the force.

So, if the runner attempts or actually does retouch 1B, then the force is re-instated. If he doesn't, then abandonment will be called once he reaches HP and the run scores.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
The BR at first is NOT a force. Nothing to re-instate.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: At the base of the mountains
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by GA Umpire View Post
I will not re-instate the force unless the runner touches(passes back) over 1B. If he is heading toward 2B or swings around in foul territory and makes no effort to retouch 1B, I am only calling him out for abandonment which is a timing play.

To re-instate the force without the runner actually making some kind of gesture to retouch is going to cause more problems b/c he didn't actually touch(pass over) the base again. Making that call is grabbing the wrong end since the runner did nothing to re-instate the force.

So, if the runner attempts or actually does retouch 1B, then the force is re-instated. If he doesn't, then abandonment will be called once he reaches HP and the run scores.
You have a good argument with 4.09 and as Rich pointed out, technically it isn't a force at 1B. However I belive you understood what I meant.
__________________
Its' not a matter of being right or wrong, it's a matter of working hard to get it right.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batter Hitting Ball while out of Box tibear Baseball 3 Mon May 26, 2008 11:23am
ASA fastpitch - batter hitting ball in the dirt RM85 Softball 6 Mon Jun 04, 2007 09:04pm
Batter Hitting Ball Second Time whiskers_ump Softball 3 Wed Oct 06, 2004 12:08pm
SP (ASA) Ball hitting batter..... dsimp8 Softball 4 Tue Sep 14, 2004 07:09pm
Batter touching home plate while hitting - OBR jesmael Baseball 20 Thu Jun 17, 2004 02:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1