The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 26, 2009, 10:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5
Interference Question

High School baseball. One out. R1 is on third base. B2 hits a foul pop up between home and 3rd (About 60 feet down the line, 10-15 feet foul). F5 breaks for the ball as R1 turns around to return to the bag. They collide in foul territory. I believe the ball was catchable with a strong effort by F5.
Please make your ruling. The reason for posting this question is that the Dead Ball table in the NFHS Rulebook (5-1-1) #8 states that interference on a foul fly ball results in the batter being called out with no mention of the runner. Interference by a runner, of course, results in the runner being called out. Please clarify this rule as it regards a foul ball and a collission in foul territory. Thanks.

Matt
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
interference question MJT Softball 29 Tue Jun 05, 2007 03:32pm
Interference Question Stair-Climber Softball 8 Sat Jun 11, 2005 09:49pm
Question on Interference sofballmd Softball 6 Tue Jun 07, 2005 12:20pm
Interference question bluduc Baseball 2 Mon Oct 18, 2004 03:23pm
Interference Question Stair-Climber Softball 9 Sat Mar 20, 2004 09:12am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1