| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Interference Question
			 
			 
			
		
		
		
			
			High School baseball.  One out.  R1 is on third base.  B2 hits a foul pop up between home and 3rd (About 60 feet down the line, 10-15 feet foul).  F5 breaks for the ball as R1 turns around to return to the bag.  They collide in foul territory.  I believe the ball was catchable with a strong effort by F5. 
Please make your ruling.  The reason for posting this question is that the Dead Ball table in the NFHS Rulebook (5-1-1) #8 states that interference on a foul fly ball results in the batter being called out with no mention of the runner.  Interference by a runner, of course, results in the runner being called out.  Please clarify this rule as it regards a foul ball and a collission in foul territory.  Thanks. 
 
Matt
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 |