The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Interference Question (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53377-interference-question.html)

travlinmatt Tue May 26, 2009 10:44am

Interference Question
 
High School baseball. One out. R1 is on third base. B2 hits a foul pop up between home and 3rd (About 60 feet down the line, 10-15 feet foul). F5 breaks for the ball as R1 turns around to return to the bag. They collide in foul territory. I believe the ball was catchable with a strong effort by F5.
Please make your ruling. The reason for posting this question is that the Dead Ball table in the NFHS Rulebook (5-1-1) #8 states that interference on a foul fly ball results in the batter being called out with no mention of the runner. Interference by a runner, of course, results in the runner being called out. Please clarify this rule as it regards a foul ball and a collission in foul territory. Thanks.

Matt

UmpJM Tue May 26, 2009 11:22am

travlinmatt,

As described, under Fed (i.e. HS) rules in this sitch the Batter is declared out on his teammate's interference and the runner returns to 3B.

Under OBR rules, the runner who interfered would be out and the batter would remain at bat with a foul ball added to his count (i.e. a strike if he had less than two strikes).

JM

Kevin Finnerty Tue May 26, 2009 12:01pm

I knew this one because I screwed it up once. (The sure-fire way to remember a rule.) :)

johnnyg08 Tue May 26, 2009 12:04pm

That's an interesting difference in the rule...a huge difference in my opinion. Wouldn't it be nice if these types of situations were consistent along the rule sets? I did not know this difference. Now I do. Great post.

David B Tue May 26, 2009 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 604628)
travlinmatt,

As described, under Fed (i.e. HS) rules in this sitch the Batter is declared out on his teammate's interference and the runner returns to 3B.

Under OBR rules, the runner who interfered would be out and the batter would remain at bat with a foul ball added to his count (i.e. a strike if he had less than two strikes).

JM

Yes, this is one of those that I always remind myself of because it is different in FED and OBR.

The dead ball table does need to say other runners return - it does say another runner could be called out if the int. prevented a DP, but does not say what to do with the runners.

You have to be careful with FED rule #'s also, they list as 7-4-1g but it's 7-4-1f in my 2008 book. The penalty is referenced above that in 7-3-6.

I too have seen this messed up several times by umpires who didn't know the difference. One of those you have to remember.

thanks
David

GA Umpire Tue May 26, 2009 12:18pm

I missed the part in OBR where the ball is foul and the batter comes back.

I just want to know where to find this ruling even if it is for me to look in PBUC or MLBUM manuals.

travlinmatt Tue May 26, 2009 12:39pm

David, thank you for mentioning rule 7-4-1f. This clarifies the high school rule in regard to the batter. However, I would like to see a better reference to what to do with the offending runner. But now in response to the difference with OBR. I think the difference is rather significant and seems strange for one governing body to differentiate this circumstance. Thanks.

Matt

mbyron Tue May 26, 2009 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by travlinmatt (Post 604644)
David, thank you for mentioning rule 7-4-1f. This clarifies the high school rule in regard to the batter. However, I would like to see a better reference to what to do with the offending runner. But now in response to the difference with OBR. I think the difference is rather significant and seems strange for one governing body to differentiate this circumstance. Thanks.

Matt

General rule for all interference by the offense: runners return to the base occupied at the time of interference (TOI).

GA Umpire Tue May 26, 2009 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 604646)
General rule for all interference by the offense: runners return to the base occupied at the time of interference (TOI).

This is only true if there is an intervening play(at least for OBR). If INT occurs on the initial throw or while a batted ball is being fielded, then runners return to TOP base unless forced by BR. If there is an intervening play such as a play at HP and then F2's throw hits BR while out of the lane, then all runners go to base last legally occupied before TOI and any runs already scored remain scored.

This is for OBR. FED may be different.

mbyron Tue May 26, 2009 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GA Umpire (Post 604648)
This is only true if there is an intervening play(at least for OBR).

*sigh*

I said "as a general rule." And I was right: just look at OBR 2.00 Interference:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rule 2.00
Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with,
obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play.
If the umpire declares the batter, batter-runner, or a runner out for interference,
all other runners shall return to the last base that was in the judgment of the
umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference
, unless otherwise
provided by these rules.


bob jenkins Tue May 26, 2009 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GA Umpire (Post 604648)
This is for OBR. FED may be different.

FED is ALWAYS TOI, except for FPSR.

8-2-9 (third sentence)

GA Umpire Tue May 26, 2009 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 604652)
*sigh*

I said "as a general rule." And I was right: just look at OBR 2.00 Interference:

And, if it is done as a "general rule", it will get misapplied. There are specific rules provided to cover it. Going by "general rule" is not a good idea. Just look at how the "general rule" doesn't cover all and someone will misapply if just given the "general rule". Even the "general rule" is a specific rule if you think about it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1