The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 17, 2009, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
You don't need common sense.

6.05 A batter is out when—
(f) He attempts to hit a third strike and the ball touches him;
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 17, 2009, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 15
Cool. Thanks. It's not made that clear in the NFHS 2006 rule book I have.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 17, 2009, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfoster View Post
Cool. Thanks. It's not made that clear in the NFHS 2006 rule book I have.

In FED you need to string together that it's a dead ball and that you can't run the bases on a dead ball.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 17, 2009, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
In FED you need to string together that it's a dead ball and that you can't run the bases on a dead ball.
Yeah that is the logic I follow. But, as devil's advocate, I could argue with myself that since the third strike was not caught, and the ball is immediately dead, the batter should be awarded first base.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 17, 2009, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfoster View Post
Yeah that is the logic I follow. But, as devil's advocate, I could argue with myself that since the third strike was not caught, and the ball is immediately dead, the batter should be awarded first base.

Getting first on an uncaught third strike is not an award - it has to be earned.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 17, 2009, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Getting first on an uncaught third strike is not an award - it has to be earned.
Not entirely true...A passed ball or wild pitch could go out of play. I think your choice of words might be a bit misleading to lesser-experienced umpires.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 17, 2009, 04:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt View Post
Not entirely true...A passed ball or wild pitch could go out of play. I think your choice of words might be a bit misleading to lesser-experienced umpires.
No, he's right. In your two scenarios the batter would not be getting first base as a result of the uncaught third strike but rather because of the ball going into dead ball territory. Two different things, two different statements.

His statement stands correct, "Getting first on an uncaught third strike is not an award"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 17, 2009, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfoster View Post
Cool. Thanks. It's not made that clear in the NFHS 2006 rule book I have.
...you need to get that updated.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 17, 2009, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
...you need to get that updated.
I know. I volunteer as an umpire. So I'm not likely as "hardcore" as many people here. But, I do love the game and love the rules just as much. So, this is fun for me. You're right, though, I should get a new rule book for myself. Does the new NFHS clarify this situation any more?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 17, 2009, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfoster View Post
I know. I volunteer as an umpire. So I'm not likely as "hardcore" as many people here. But, I do love the game and love the rules just as much. So, this is fun for me. You're right, though, I should get a new rule book for myself. Does the new NFHS clarify this situation any more?
Do you have the casebook? I believe there is a case play on this... but I could be wrong.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS – Batter hit by pitch swinging – 3rd strike out? Angler Softball 2 Wed May 21, 2008 01:33pm
Batter running on dropped third strike PABlue Baseball 10 Mon Jun 11, 2007 02:26pm
3rd strike dropped goes OB, award batter 1st ?? chuck chopper Softball 2 Mon Jun 07, 2004 10:43am
Third strike dropped\ batter kicked Turn14 Baseball 4 Mon Mar 01, 2004 03:05pm
Dropped third strike hitting a batter-runner. Illini_Ref Baseball 6 Wed Apr 30, 2003 10:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1