![]() |
|
|
|||
F2 only has a right to get the ball after the batter has had a complete, uninterrupted chance to hit the ball.
Meaning, until the ball has completely passed the plate and the batter takes no chance to hit the ball while in flight. For the plate, remember, the ball has to cross the foul line(s) to be a pitch. For the takes no chance, if the batter swings at the ball while it is still in flight and not with the obvious intent to hit the F2's glove(such as a really late swing), then F2 better not hinder him. If the ball is no longer in flight(and bouncing is still in flight), ie. it is completely in the F2's glove, then he cannot be interfered with anymore. So, if the catcher catches the ball behind the plate and is starting to throw to 2B, then the batter can no longer be interfered with. Now, it is the catcher that can be interfered with.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" |
|
|||
Today in my D1 game the runner from third tried to steal home. The catcher, realizing this, jumped out from behind the plate and into the batter's box opposite the batter to catch the pitch and try to get the tag down. The batter did not attempt a swing, and the catcher was not in front of the plate. A balk was called and the run scored, but there was no catcher's interference - just a balk for the catcher being clearly out of the catcher's box (in this case with BOTH feet) at the time the pitch was released.
Fun stuff. JJ |
|
|||
Quote:
However, did the runner break before the pitcher started any movement and the catcher was out of the box? If the catcher was out of the box after the pitcher started his delivery, then a balk and CI should have been called. TOP is considered to have started when the pitcher starts his delivery, not when he releases the ball. He interfered with the batter's chance to hit the ball and he did it after the pitcher began his delivery of the ball(which is when TOP occurs). So, to call a balk and not CI was wrong. It should have been both.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" |
|
|||
Quote:
9-3-i It's a balk when "The pitcher pitches while the catcher is not in the catcher's box. The catcher must have both feet in the catcher's box until the ball leaves the pitcher's hand. PENALTY: Balk. The ball becomes dead and each runner must advance one base." The catcher did not hinder the batter's ability to swing at the pitch. In this case he was just out of the box before the ball left the pitcher's hand. No CI. JJ |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Otherwise, I call the pitch or, as pointed out for NCAA, call any other rule which may have been violated.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
ASA SP batter catching a pitched ball | dsimp8 | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 16, 2005 02:49pm |
Fly after pitch bounces in front of plate | strike4 | Softball | 4 | Tue May 03, 2005 02:02pm |
catching own air ball | comfy | Basketball | 6 | Thu Jan 29, 2004 07:40am |
Throwing ball off of backboard and catching | Rich | Basketball | 3 | Mon Dec 16, 2002 02:03pm |