The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Catcher catching ball in front of the plate. (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53244-catcher-catching-ball-front-plate.html)

Keefj200 Fri May 15, 2009 11:23am

Catcher catching ball in front of the plate.
 
R-3 and R-1 on base with one out. The pitcher delivers a very slow pitch which F-2 catches in front of the plate. The batter did not swing, or better yet - was not able to swing at the pitch due to the location of the catcher. The catcher tells the plate umpire -"It was a pitchout." The batter screams he couldn't offer at the pitch without hitting the catcher. The ball probably would have been a strike if not for the catcher catching it front of the plate. Again, it was a very slow pitch. What do you have? Anything??

Emperor Ump Fri May 15, 2009 11:35am

My best guess would be a ball as it never crossed the plate.

I wouldn't want to be that catcher, when the batter decides to swing for the fences. W/o the batter having attempted I doubt I could call CI unless I feel he started then stopped because of the catcher being in the way. And the catcher would get a don't do that.

johnnyg08 Fri May 15, 2009 11:37am

I don't know if we want coaches teaching their kids to swing so they hit the catcher to get us to move the catcher back. Doesn't sound like a pitchout to me? I don't care what he says. What if he told you that was a strike? Would you simply agree with him?

Keefj200 Fri May 15, 2009 11:45am

This happened to a friend of mine at a men's league game last night. I told him I thought it was simply a ball. He called a balk on the pitcher and advanced the runners.

Emperor Ump Fri May 15, 2009 11:46am

I can see that - throwing a pitch which does not cross a foul line...

Ump Rube Fri May 15, 2009 11:48am

I have Catcher's Obstruction (or Interference if you wanna play it that way). Looking in the FED's HS Rules by Topic Guide it states that F2 may not catch a pitch until it has crossed HP. BR gets 1st, R1 gets 2nd (on force), and R3 gets HP only if stealing on the play.

jwwashburn Fri May 15, 2009 11:48am

Rule 2.00 (Interference) (b) Defensive interference is an act by a fielder which hinders or prevents a batter from hitting a pitch.

That was interference if playing by MLB rules. Federation has similar language, I think.

Joe in Missouri

jdmara Fri May 15, 2009 11:49am

This is defensive (catcher's) obstruction. 8.1.1F tells us that "F2 may not
catch the pitch until it has passed home plate". Award the batter first base on this play

-Josh

{I was beat to the punch, darn}

johnnyg08 Fri May 15, 2009 11:49am

I like that ruling...a pitch that does not cross the foul line shall be called a balk or an illegal pitch. Great post!

Position of the catcher:

The catcher shall station himself directly back of the plate. He may leave his position at any time to catch a pitch or make a play except that when the batter is being given an intentional base on balls, the catcher must stand with both feet within the lines of the catcher’s box until the ball leaves the pitcher’s hand.
PENALTY: Balk.

johnnyg08 Fri May 15, 2009 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 602385)
This is defensive (catcher's) obstruction. 8.1.1F tells us that "F2 may not
catch the pitch until it has passed home plate". Award the batter first base on this play

-Josh

{I was beat to the punch, darn}

What rule set?

mbyron Fri May 15, 2009 11:53am

This is catcher interference (OBR) or obstruction (FED).

Quote:

Originally Posted by OBR
7.07 If, with a runner on third base and trying to score by means of a squeeze play or a
steal, the catcher or any other fielder steps on, or in front of home base without possession of
the ball
, or touches the batter or his bat, the pitcher shall be charged with a balk, the batter
shall be awarded first base on the interference and the ball is dead.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Case Book
8.1.1 SITUATION F: R1 is on second base. After B2 takes his position in batter’s
box, F2 clearly reaches out over home plate (a) prior to; (b) after F1 has
made a movement that has committed him to pitch; or (c) to receive the pitch.
RULING: It is catcher obstruction in both (b) and (c), and B2 is awarded first base
and R1 is awarded third base only if he was stealing on the pitch. F2 may not
catch the pitch until it has passed home plate. In (a), there is no violation
provided F2 and his equipment are removed from the area over home plate before
pitcher has made a movement that committed him to pitch. (8-3-1c)


jdmara Fri May 15, 2009 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 602388)
What rule set?

FED as mbyron has quoted

-Josh

johnnyg08 Fri May 15, 2009 12:15pm

thank you.

johnnyg08 Fri May 15, 2009 12:18pm

OBR: So on a squeeze as long as F2 does not step on the plate and the batter doesn't attept a swing that would hit the F2, F2 can catch the ball over the plate and attempt a tag on R3? Am I reading that correctly?

Keefj200 Fri May 15, 2009 12:46pm

As far as I know it was not a squeeze or runner trying to steal home. However, R-1 was attempting to steal 2nd.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1