The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 15, 2009, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 16
This happened to a friend of mine at a men's league game last night. I told him I thought it was simply a ball. He called a balk on the pitcher and advanced the runners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 15, 2009, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Great State of North Carolina
Posts: 170
I can see that - throwing a pitch which does not cross a foul line...
__________________
Warren
www.umpire-empire.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 15, 2009, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
This is defensive (catcher's) obstruction. 8.1.1F tells us that "F2 may not
catch the pitch until it has passed home plate". Award the batter first base on this play

-Josh

{I was beat to the punch, darn}
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 15, 2009, 11:53am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
This is defensive (catcher's) obstruction. 8.1.1F tells us that "F2 may not
catch the pitch until it has passed home plate". Award the batter first base on this play

-Josh

{I was beat to the punch, darn}
What rule set?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 15, 2009, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
What rule set?
FED as mbyron has quoted

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 15, 2009, 12:15pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
thank you.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 15, 2009, 12:18pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
OBR: So on a squeeze as long as F2 does not step on the plate and the batter doesn't attept a swing that would hit the F2, F2 can catch the ball over the plate and attempt a tag on R3? Am I reading that correctly?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again

Last edited by johnnyg08; Fri May 15, 2009 at 12:33pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 15, 2009, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 16
As far as I know it was not a squeeze or runner trying to steal home. However, R-1 was attempting to steal 2nd.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA SP batter catching a pitched ball dsimp8 Softball 11 Thu Jun 16, 2005 02:49pm
Fly after pitch bounces in front of plate strike4 Softball 4 Tue May 03, 2005 02:02pm
catching own air ball comfy Basketball 6 Thu Jan 29, 2004 07:40am
Throwing ball off of backboard and catching Rich Basketball 3 Mon Dec 16, 2002 02:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1