![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me Last edited by w_sohl; Sun May 10, 2009 at 02:32pm. |
|
|||
|
1. In a FED game, this violation is called "catcher's obstruction" for the sake of consistency (obstruction is always on the defense, interference is usually on the offense).
2. As w_sohl points out, this is a "delayed dead ball," and that's true in every rule code. If the batter hits the ball despite the obstruction, we let the play continue (proper mechanic for PU would be the FED obstruction mechanic). If the BR or any runner fails to reach his advance base, we enforce the obstruction. 3. The penalty for obstruction is that the batter is awarded 1B, NOT brought back to the plate. Other runners advance if forced by the award or if they were stealing during the play, otherwise they stay put. 8-1-1(e) 4. The offense may choose the result of the play (proper procedure is to enforce the penalty but to grant a request to take the play -- not to offer the option to the coach). The offense might do that, for example, in a case like this: late innings, team at bat down by 1, R3, 1 out. Batter is obstructed but hits a slow roller to F6, who throws out BR, R3 scoring. The O-coach might prefer to have bases empty with 2 outs and a run scored (the result of the play) over R1 & R3 with 1 out (the result of enforcing the obstruction penalty).
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Now I know for next time. Thanks, all. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
it should be called right away, but if you let the play happened, you can call it whenever...everybody's watching the ball anyway. It's not ideal, but I get annoyed when fans say "you have to call that right away.." not always. yes, that's when it should be called...but if you need a few more seconds to process what you think you heard...there's no harm in taking a couple more seconds.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
Quote:
(I take "called" to mean a verbal indication)
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me Last edited by w_sohl; Sun May 10, 2009 at 02:38pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Make the "call" immediately to let everyone know you (who's paying attention) that you have CI. Signal but do not verbalize. When the playing action ends, give the verbal. |
|
|||
|
In a perfect world, as I said "should". Yes, that would be the correct way to do it.
The DDB signal lets those know that you have something. Lighten up folks...wound a little tight today
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
No you just have to choose your words more wisely. If officials that understand the rules are picking your words apart how do you think the OP, someone who is unsure of how the rules are enforced, is going to take your words?
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me |
|
|||
|
That's one thing I TRY to do is pay attention, widen my vision so to speak (type?). They put me at a table almost directly behind home plate. I was looking over the catcher's right shoulder to see the pitcher. And I still didn't see the PU motion the obstruction because I was following the ball. He may have, and probably did the mechanic. But even when doing radio, it amazes me how narrow my vision gets when the ball gets hit with the bat.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Do you have interferance | roadking | Softball | 11 | Sun Dec 28, 2008 11:24pm |
| Interferance? | TwoDot | Baseball | 3 | Mon Jun 19, 2006 10:11pm |
| Interferance? | santeebutch | Baseball | 23 | Wed Mar 09, 2005 08:54pm |
| interferance? | Glen G | Softball | 3 | Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:53pm |
| interferance | jumpmaster | Baseball | 3 | Thu Apr 18, 2002 01:01pm |