![]() |
When to call catcher's interferance?
Completely pleading ignorance (now that it's been several hours and I've cooled off). Please educate me.
R1, one out, tie game, FED. Batter hits into a 6-4-3 DP to end the inning...or so it seemed. After the DP was turned and as the players are coming off the field, PU calls time and puts everyone back saying catcher's interference, that the bat clipped the mitt. Batter then gets back in the box and hits a double down the line on the next pitch scoring the runner from first. Fans on one side was livid that catcher's interference was not called immediately, and a few fans for the other team told me they also disagreed with the call, but they'd take it. So when is CI supposed to be called? Immediately as it happened or after the play? I was unsure and the folks back home are probably mad at me for not berating the ump on the air for waiting, but I said I was not sure when it is supposed to be called, saying if the result of the play that the CI happened was a base hit, there was no advantage and it wouldn't have mattered. But since there was an advantage with the DP, it probably had to be called then. What say you? |
Obstruction on the batter by the catcher is a delayed dead ball, so the play is allowed to be completed.
Did the umpire put the runners back on orginal bases and the batter continued his at bat? |
Quote:
|
1. In a FED game, this violation is called "catcher's obstruction" for the sake of consistency (obstruction is always on the defense, interference is usually on the offense).
2. As w_sohl points out, this is a "delayed dead ball," and that's true in every rule code. If the batter hits the ball despite the obstruction, we let the play continue (proper mechanic for PU would be the FED obstruction mechanic). If the BR or any runner fails to reach his advance base, we enforce the obstruction. 3. The penalty for obstruction is that the batter is awarded 1B, NOT brought back to the plate. Other runners advance if forced by the award or if they were stealing during the play, otherwise they stay put. 8-1-1(e) 4. The offense may choose the result of the play (proper procedure is to enforce the penalty but to grant a request to take the play -- not to offer the option to the coach). The offense might do that, for example, in a case like this: late innings, team at bat down by 1, R3, 1 out. Batter is obstructed but hits a slow roller to F6, who throws out BR, R3 scoring. The O-coach might prefer to have bases empty with 2 outs and a run scored (the result of the play) over R1 & R3 with 1 out (the result of enforcing the obstruction penalty). |
Quote:
Often, no one notices the call, though. |
Quote:
Now I know for next time. Thanks, all. |
Quote:
|
it should be called right away, but if you let the play happened, you can call it whenever...everybody's watching the ball anyway. It's not ideal, but I get annoyed when fans say "you have to call that right away.." not always. yes, that's when it should be called...but if you need a few more seconds to process what you think you heard...there's no harm in taking a couple more seconds.
|
Quote:
(I take "called" to mean a verbal indication) |
Quote:
Make the "call" immediately to let everyone know you (who's paying attention) that you have CI. Signal but do not verbalize. When the playing action ends, give the verbal. |
In a perfect world, as I said "should". Yes, that would be the correct way to do it.
The DDB signal lets those know that you have something. Lighten up folks...wound a little tight today |
Quote:
|
good thing I'm not a journalism guy...i don't disagree w/ what you're saying...i'm obviously not as strong at articulating as others on here.
|
Quote:
|
well, and sometimes you have to hear it...you don't always see it.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00am. |